Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2011, 08:48 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 57

My System Specs

Default Which SSD to get?!?

Well I'm in the midst of building my new SFF rig and I'm looking to dip into the SDD realm. After some reading and research, I was looking at going with the OCZ Vertex 3 120 gig, with a 1TB WD black on secondary (have a NAS for mass storage). But looking more in this hardware section, I've seem alot of unhappy users with the OCZ vertex series in general. I'd love everyone's thought's and comments.

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2011, 09:30 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 57
Default

You can try Corsair Performance series 3 128gb variety, which I've been using for last couple of weeks...No problem so far. Booting into windows under 30 seconds flat!

Like you I was considering OCZ but too many trouble..so I decided to try Corsair.

Now I want to get another one for my wife's system.
__________________
1st - ASUS P8P67 Deluxe, i7-2600K o/c 4.6Ghz, Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 16Gig, 2x HIS Radeon 6970 CF, Custom WC from Dazmode, Corsair AX1200, Corsair P3-128 SSD, Coolermaster HAF-X
2nd - ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP, Q6600 o/c 3.6Ghz, Corsair Dominator 6Gig, Sapphire 5870V2, Swiftech H20-220 Ultima XT, Corsair AX850, Antec 900

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2011, 09:43 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

If you are leery of the SF series then the Intel 510, Crucial M4 or Corsair Performance 3 is they way to go. Basically the same controller in all 3...just diferent firmware. ;)

This assumes you have SATA 6gb/s which is NOT via Marvell or other 3rd party controllers (ie is built into the Intel PCH or AMD SB). IF you only have sata 6 via 3rd party controllers, Id look at the Intel 3 series as the Crucials (and SF drives) take a performance hit when being run on sata rev 2 boards...and you DON'T want to run them on sata 6 via Marvel...no TRIM. Not a good thing for a first ssd user. ;)

YMMV
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2011, 09:49 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 57

My System Specs

Default

I'll be running an Asus P67 board rev 3.0 with a 2500K i5. Thanks for all the suggestions so far.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2011, 10:40 AM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Well I just got my new Corsair Force 3 240GB in today and will put it in place over the weekend so I can let people know what it is like.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2011, 02:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 23
Default

I've been reading good reviews on the Force 3. Althought its around $2/GB... I can't afford it as of yet..
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2011, 06:44 PM
turtletrax's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Not in PPC's pocket.
Posts: 540

My System Specs

Default

Loving the C300 and M4. Have a Vertex 2 that hasnt given me any problems either.
__________________
"The thing about internet quotes is you can not confirm their validity." - Abraham Lincoln.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2011, 01:09 PM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default

Do Corsair and Cruel have toolbox type software?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2011, 05:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Not sure about how good the new Corsair Force Series 3 is. But I have 2 of the old Corsair Force 60 in RAID0 as my C drive. The setup runs very well. Load speed for CoD Black Ops is amazingly fast when compared to how it was when I used to run the game on hard drive.

Instead of getting one 120Gb, consider getting 2 x 60Gb, and run them in RAID0. Corsair Force Series 3 60Gb (rated @ 550Mb/s Read and 490Mb/s Write) is currently on sale for $120 @ Canada Computers. 2 of them in RAID0 should give you a read speed of 1100MB/s and write speed of 980Mb/s!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2011, 05:59 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

I am glad you are the exception to the rule, but for most users, RAID 0 + SF drives is not a good solution. The reason is simple: sequential speeds are a piss poor way to chose a SSD and with RAID you dont get TRIM. This is OK when dealing with non SF drives, but SF drives get into a degraded state too easily and stay there too long (ie their "ITGC" is very gentle and slow).

For raid solutions and scenarios the C300 and M4 are more optimal choices. :)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr

Last edited by AkG; July 18, 2011 at 06:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does SATA III in RAID 0 (on non-SSD) out performing SATA II in RAID 0 (on non-SSD)? SmallWhiteDragon Storage 15 July 19, 2011 12:19 AM
SSD making BIOS really slow, and won't detect the SSD Mr. Gruntsworthy Troubleshooting 24 March 5, 2011 10:53 AM
Is this an ok ssd? mo' power Storage 7 March 3, 2011 07:28 PM
AKG and other fellow SSD gurus best sub 120$ SSD Delavan Storage 5 September 24, 2010 03:11 AM
SSD for OS only? Caldezar Storage 5 July 22, 2010 02:17 PM