Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2011, 10:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Default RST Caching Config Question

I read the article regarding the Z68's RST Caching feature regarding speed improvements with a small SSD alongside a traditional HDD. What advice does this forum have for people who have a new OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD + 2TB WD Black? The article is silent for those who have a full size SSD. Therefore is it implied to carry on with the old advice to set BIOS storage config to ACHI or do we follow the new advice and set storage config to RAID for those who have both large and small SSDs?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2011, 11:17 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 470
Default

core OS and large/important apps on SSD, documents, settings, users, temp files, small/unimportant apps, media and archives on on HDD. I'd partition the HDD into user/temp, apps and everything else.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2011, 11:18 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Not sure I would bother with caching with a 120gb SSD. Just run your OS from that.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2011, 11:22 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,764
Default

The Rapid Storage driver supports up to 64GB. Unless you made a second partition on your SSD, much of it would go to waste when used as a cache drive.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2011, 11:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks, guys! I'm leaning towards this then - OS/programs on SSD, data/other stuff on 2TB HDD, set storage config in BIOS to AHCI, and forget about RST Caching. How is this option? 120GB SSD, 2TB HDD, and dedicated 20GB SSD for caching. Is this option stupid/pointless?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2011, 11:50 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,764
Default

I'd recommend a 40GB SSD for caching.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASRock Updates Intel RST Driver For Intel Smart Response Technology Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 12, 2011 11:19 AM
Need help with monitor config!!! Keltron 3030 Troubleshooting 5 September 18, 2010 09:41 AM
Push-Pull CPU HSF Config Question CORE Air Cooling 3 July 2, 2009 05:53 AM
Best gaming PC config. Crysisfan11 New Builds 51 January 24, 2009 02:00 PM