Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2011, 05:07 PM
Xeven's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 483
Default SSD upgrade for an SR-2 setup

Some background:

The SR-2 has a Marvell 9128 SATA III (x1) controller. Basically, its bus/performance limited thus rendering the added throughput of the latest generation of SSDs useless. Now I want to go 2x-240GB Vertex 3 (or maybe a couple of M4s). The system currently has 2x-X25Ms and they run fine but I recently sold 4 SR-2 folding machines and can't upgrade to Interlagos (if ever) or the LGA2011 until Intel or AMD decides to release them. So here I am going for the unneeded upgrade and hardware whoredom.

My options:

1. Stick with ICH10R and live with the "measly" theoretical throughput. Honestly, will I even realize the difference?
2. Buy a RAID controller. eg. LSI 9260-4i or something similar which costs an arm and half a testicle.
3. Get a Revodrive X2 (very problematic with the SR-2) and will probably be EOL soon.
4. Buy a couple of Vertex 2s instead (throughput is capped by the ICH10R anyway) and save the extra cash for when my wife finds out I just bought useless stuff again and kicks me out of the house.
5. Keep the X25s and just spend the extra cash on the wife so she doesn't kill me when I eventually move to a 4P machine.

Your thoughts?
__________________

PSXeven. Batards of the World Unite!
The gap between happiness and utter misery is only but a few inches
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2011, 05:13 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,479

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xeven View Post
Some background:

The SR-2 has a Marvell 9128 SATA III (x1) controller. Basically, its bus/performance limited thus rendering the added throughput of the latest generation of SSDs useless. Now I want to go 2x-240GB Vertex 3 (or maybe a couple of M4s). The system currently has 2x-X25Ms and they run fine but I recently sold 4 SR-2 folding machines and can't upgrade to Interlagos (if ever) or the LGA2011 until Intel or AMD decides to release them. So here I am going for the unneeded upgrade and hardware whoredom.

My options:

1. Stick with ICH10R and live with the "measly" theoretical throughput. Honestly, will I even realize the difference?
2. Buy a RAID controller. eg. LSI 9260-4i or something similar which costs an arm and half a testicle.
3. Get a Revodrive X2 (very problematic with the SR-2) and will probably be EOL soon.
4. Buy a couple of Vertex 2s instead (throughput is capped by the ICH10R anyway) and save the extra cash for when my wife finds out I just bought useless stuff again and kicks me out of the house.
5. Keep the X25s and just spend the extra cash on the wife so she doesn't kill me when I eventually move to a 4P machine.

Your thoughts?
Clearly the last option is the best, since Ivy bridge is 6 months away, and will rip the pants off everything.

Besides, whats the point of RAID'd SSD's on the SR2 anyways? Increases PPD 100 points? lolz.
I mean, if you're that itching to spend cash, Ive got a rig for you...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2011, 05:20 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Stick to the X25s. I tried the Raid 0 SSD setup during the Challenge on my Customer's rig (dual Gskills), and I felt no sizeable difference over my ex-SR2, which had a single Corsair F100.

It's already plenty fast. Revo? Stay far, very far from it when handling a SR2...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2011, 05:26 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if you have something that works with it? keep it.

else,headaches may (will) follow! :p
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2011, 05:33 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

do nothing, or buy one of thoses 4 sockets amd Boards.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2011, 05:54 PM
Xeven's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 483
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
Besides, whats the point of RAID'd SSD's on the SR2 anyways?
I put single SSDs on all of the folding machines because I hate waiting for windows to bootup when optimizing settings. When I started using one as a workstation, I figured a RAID SSD was in order. Not a big justification, but a reason nonetheless.
__________________

PSXeven. Batards of the World Unite!
The gap between happiness and utter misery is only but a few inches
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2011, 05:57 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,926

My System Specs

Default

What are you using this machine for? Either way I doubt you'll notice any difference in perceivable speed w/ faster SSD's.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2011, 02:30 AM
Xeven's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 483
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
What are you using this machine for? Either way I doubt you'll notice any difference in perceivable speed w/ faster SSD's.
It's now my main workstation / gaming rig. So sometimes it's nice to have all that I/O speed.
__________________

PSXeven. Batards of the World Unite!
The gap between happiness and utter misery is only but a few inches
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ssd setup and tweaks Raftus Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 December 31, 2010 07:59 AM
Question about SSD+HDD setup gzussturbo Troubleshooting 8 November 11, 2010 11:02 PM
Best HDD setup for gaming/storage - NON SSD Flintblade Storage 11 June 7, 2010 02:59 PM
I7, I5 or a simple SSD upgrade MarkOne New Builds 5 October 27, 2009 09:50 AM
SSD setup MarkOne Storage 6 October 27, 2009 07:47 AM