Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2011, 03:00 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default AKG and all, superfetch, SSDs, BSODs

Howdy AKG, resident SSD guru and other fellows,

I've been having issues and I want to share info, double-checking with you all also.

My steps:

1-Buying my Sandy parts
2-system building
3-OS install (Win7 64) on my goldie oldie VERTEX 1 FW 1.5 health 86% (never had issues with it, 18 months old...)

4- config a few things in BIOS
5-REBOOT and run SSDTWEAKS

I guess it disables superfetch...

I've been getting BSODs...always the MEMORY MANAGEMENT one....
I reserched, DLed MEMTEST 86+, ran it...got no errors...

I tried a lot of things...then I found that the SUPERFETCH setting (located into MEMORY MANAGEMENT in regedit) was disabled,

I re-enabled superfetch...could it be the cause of my errors??

anybody relates to that situation?
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2011, 03:06 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if you drop in another drive and nothing else changes, and its fine? perhaps.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2011, 03:21 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Quote:
if you drop in another drive and nothing else changes, and its fine? perhaps.
DAN, you're killing me...lol

if you fork more cash for another drive and feel like re-installing OS, software and games, and its fine? perhaps.




I'm not there yet. My SSD was running fine on my P5Q pro...now on P8P67 Deluxe...
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2011, 03:32 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

dude all im saying is try another drive...maybe cable...and so on.
yes settings can bork something out,or sometimes the two just dun git along,
but if you swap dementially,youll probably find it.
i just spent 3 hours trying to get something similar sorted,got tired went to the store got another
model and all is good...:)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2011, 04:13 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

I have had a LOT of bad luck with the various ssd tweaks progies. BSOD is a common issue. Prolly screwed something up. Nuke it, start from scratch and then do the tweaks MANUALLY. See if it BSODs. if it does. try with a hdd and see if its the storage or mem or etc etc.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2011, 08:52 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Thank you both for your answers.

It is possible that the SSD TWEAKER caused the issue then...if I keep getting BSOD /memory management, I will have to re-install. I got it.

Sad but true.
now, I'll be crossing fingers and hope for the best...
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2011, 11:02 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Quote:
I have had a LOT of bad luck with the various ssd tweaks progies. BSOD is a common issue. Prolly screwed something up. Nuke it, start from scratch and then do the tweaks MANUALLY. See if it BSODs. if it does. try with a hdd and see if its the storage or mem or etc etc.
As an update, for anybody who cares, I re-installed Win& 64 last night...

No "memory management" blue screens, and I've been able to install ALL updates this time...

The only SSD tweak I made was to disable hibernating....I haven't used any "automated SSD tweaking software) this time around.

now, the 'ol Vertex 1-120GB is still working fine......guess I got a good one!!!
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2011, 11:58 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,521

My System Specs

Default

I got a Vertex and Vertex Turbo and had no issues installing and keeping W7U64 doing all the tweaks manually. so maybe that is the best way
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2011, 12:43 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delavan View Post
As an update, for anybody who cares, I re-installed Win& 64 last night...

No "memory management" blue screens, and I've been able to install ALL updates this time...

The only SSD tweak I made was to disable hibernating....I haven't used any "automated SSD tweaking software) this time around.

now, the 'ol Vertex 1-120GB is still working fine......guess I got a good one!!!
thats what I was thinking, some of the so called tweaks are just common tweaks that can be done with any hard drive and some of them you don't really need becasue now days the systems are allot faster then those old tweaks . hell allot of those tweaks I used to use on my old P4 system so I can get better fps when playing in a gaming tournament
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2011, 12:55 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Quote:
I got a Vertex and Vertex Turbo and had no issues installing and keeping W7U64 doing all the tweaks manually. so maybe that is the best way
Yes. The thing is: I had the same SSD on the older P5Q Pro socket 775 no issues after a fresh install/w SSD tweaker.

With the Sandy/ P8P67 Deluxe, with the same SSD and the same tweaker, I got issues.

so yes, I will always use the "manual" tweaks from now on!!!
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSODs on Startup - RAM or Motherboard Issue? PeopleCanFly Troubleshooting 9 December 12, 2010 06:05 AM
Need Help with SSDs! revixd Storage 21 January 11, 2010 03:45 PM
Random BSoDs, cannot nail down reason. Fenrise Troubleshooting 8 September 7, 2009 06:20 AM
Random BSODs on Prime stable system. Realityshift Troubleshooting 17 March 17, 2009 10:13 PM
Some strange BSODs zlojack Troubleshooting 11 September 24, 2008 11:28 AM