Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2011, 06:40 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,397

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
I would do what he's doing.
I would not do it in RAID0, maybe RAID 5.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2011, 06:45 AM
Neolithium_Wpg's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lancaster Park, Alberta
Posts: 732
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
I would not do it in RAID0, maybe RAID 5.
Holy thread resurrection batman. In either case - the OP was obviously going for speed if he was considering 4xdrives for RAID 0. RAID 5 is fail for any type of speed; reads are decent but even with drives like 10,000RPM you're not going to get any type of decent writes off them. He also already stated he had a full backup of the data which would have been on the RAID0 array, danger factor therefore is small in regards to data loss.
__________________
Dell XPS8700 | Asus x101ch | iPhone 5 (iOS7)
A Veteran, whether Regular Force, Reserve or Retired- is someone who, at one point in their life, wrote a blank cheque made payable to the Dominion of Canada for an amount of "Up to and including my life"
-Author Unknown
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TRIM on RAID0 ToXic Storage 1 November 29, 2010 02:18 PM
3 SSD 64GB's In Raid0(edit 3 drives In Raid0 results + Pictures) CoolHandL Storage 6 July 23, 2010 11:10 PM
RAID0 Question Gonzo Storage 20 February 24, 2010 09:35 PM
RAID0 Backup S/W DK2 Storage 12 September 4, 2008 07:38 AM