Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2011, 02:37 PM
KRAFTIG's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 60
Question Adding a WD 1TB Green Drive...

I currently have 3 HDs, this will be 4th, will be used sticky for backup. I know where to the plug the SATA cable but I was wondering if I need to run a new cable from the modular PS for the 4th HD? The existing cable has three adapters/plugs from the one line. Can I split off one of the three or should I run a new line from the PS? TIA!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2011, 03:19 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,910

My System Specs

Default

You can split off. I have 8 HDDs running off a single "line" without any apparent issues.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2011, 03:42 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

If I had the choice I'd run another line from the PSU because I find adaptors can get loose more easily than cables clipped to my PSU, but as JD said it should be fine. (my PSU has a modular cable with 4 SATA, and I used that with no issue with 3 hard drives and an SSD)

Quote:
no output can deliver more than 240 VA continuously (240 VA is the same thing as 240 W in a DC circuit) ... this limit is PER WIRE. **
I'd like to see a combination of 4 hard drives that can draw anywhere near 240W

**Everything You Need to Know About Power Supplies | Hardware Secrets
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2011, 03:46 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,606
Default

Hard drives use the most power upon initial boot and then almost nothing after that. Its why some RAID cards allow for staggered startup so that not all the drives are powered up at once and doesn't cause as much strain on a power supply.

But 4 drives on one string is harmless.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2011, 05:30 PM
KRAFTIG's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 60
Default

Thanks gentlemen, I appreciate the quick feedback. Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2011, 06:13 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,910

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier204 View Post
If I had the choice I'd run another line from the PSU because I find adaptors can get loose more easily than cables clipped to my PSU, but as JD said it should be fine. (my PSU has a modular cable with 4 SATA, and I used that with no issue with 3 hard drives and an SSD)
I merely clip more SATA power plugs onto the cables ;) They just push on so it's quite simple. Helps cable management too when they're all lined up properly. Obviously a slightly more "advanced" approach though.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Icant get My 1TB WD Green drive to work CoolHandL Storage 4 September 12, 2010 07:13 PM
WD Green EARS vs Samsung F3 1TB JD Storage 25 May 5, 2010 05:51 PM
question about WD caviar Green 1TB ultraman7k Storage 14 March 19, 2010 10:12 PM
WD 1TB Green JD Storage 10 December 23, 2009 12:40 AM