Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2011, 11:25 AM
p3t3rson's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Uxbridge, ON
Posts: 176
Angry USB3.0 not working

So I picked up a Lacie USB3.0 external drive on sale at NCIX.com to use with my ASUS Rampage III Extreme for the odd files transfer and such. However, when I plug the Lacie drive into the onboard USB3.0 ports I get a message saying to connect the drive to a usb 3.0 speed port for faster file transfer. Yet the drive is connected to the usb3.0 connection. If I try and do a file transfer I top out around 26MB/s. Any ideas why the usb 3.0 is not working? I doubled and triple checked the connections and drivers.

Last edited by p3t3rson; April 22, 2011 at 12:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2011, 12:14 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,950

My System Specs

Default

Don't suppose you know anyone local you could try the USB3.0 drive on to see if it acts similarly?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2011, 12:24 PM
p3t3rson's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Uxbridge, ON
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Don't suppose you know anyone local you could try the USB3.0 drive on to see if it acts similarly?
Afraid not

EDIT: So I am now thinkng my OC is the problem. But I don't know is what part of my OC it is. I went into the BIOS and loaded factory defaults and now during a large .mkv file tranfser my transfer speeds avg 55MB/s. Still seems a little low.

Last edited by p3t3rson; April 22, 2011 at 12:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2011, 01:30 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,478

My System Specs

Default

Is there a specific USB3 cable?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2011, 02:05 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,595
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Is there a specific USB3 cable?
Yesir.

The plug on the end is blue not black.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2011, 02:28 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,319
Default

What model Lacie did you pick up? When you were getting 55mb/s how much of the lacie's space was full?
If its a Lacie Rikiki its a 5400rpm hitachi hdd in it (or at least that is what is in my 1tb rikiki) thus 55 is not outside the realm of possibility!

When in doubt...upgrade the NEC controller firmware and drivers. Your mobo mfger's driver and firmware are probably atleast one revision out of date (or more). I get mine from SONY/NEC/RENESAS Drivers & Firmwares
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2011, 03:07 PM
p3t3rson's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Uxbridge, ON
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
What model Lacie did you pick up? When you were getting 55mb/s how much of the lacie's space was full?
If its a Lacie Rikiki its a 5400rpm hitachi hdd in it (or at least that is what is in my 1tb rikiki) thus 55 is not outside the realm of possibility!

When in doubt...upgrade the NEC controller firmware and drivers. Your mobo mfger's driver and firmware are probably atleast one revision out of date (or more). I get mine from SONY/NEC/RENESAS Drivers & Firmwares
Mine is the 1TB LaCie Rikki, in properties it lists it as a Toshiba MK1059GSM drive. I downloaded a newer driver from station-drivers. Transfer speed jumped to an avg 74MB/s Much better. Then I returned to my original OC and my original problem returned. So there is definitely something wrong with my OC. Just have to figure out what.

EDIT: So I lowered my PCIE from 101 to 100 and USB3.0 now works perfectly.

Last edited by p3t3rson; April 23, 2011 at 02:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2011, 02:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 19

My System Specs

Default

i have a ga-770t-usb3 mb and my usb 3.0 wont work i installed the drivers and when i plug it in it dose not work
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS M4A88TD-M/USB3 & M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3 AM3 Motherboards Review Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 5 March 24, 2011 05:29 PM
Asus Shows Off P7P55/USB3 Motherboard with USB3.0 Header FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 July 16, 2010 11:22 AM
NEC USB3.0 not bootable? lowfat Storage 4 June 17, 2010 07:17 PM
USB3/SATA6 Question ImmaPC CPU's and Motherboards 10 March 8, 2010 09:15 PM