Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2011, 04:43 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Singapore
Posts: 12

My System Specs

Default SATA II HDDs in a SATA III port

Hi everyone

I've been trying to find an answer to these questions online but I can't find them, hence, pardon me if I have asked a repeat question

1. Can we plug in a SATA II HDD into a SATA III port on the motherboard?

2. Can we plug a SATA III HDD into a SATA II port on the motherboard?

Thanks!

I'm asking this because I bought an Intel 320 series SSD and then I realise that my motherboard only has SATA III (AMD SB850)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2011, 07:33 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,230

My System Specs

Default

I've done both without problems. The protocol is designed to be backwards-compatible.

1. (SATA 3 Gb/s Kingston SSDNow in an Intel P67's SATA 6 Gb/s)
2. (SATA 6 Gb/s WD Caviar Black in an AMD 790GX's (EDIT: +SB750) SATA 3 Gb/s)
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]

Last edited by frontier204; April 6, 2011 at 07:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2011, 10:48 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,588
Default

yes and indeed yes.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2011, 11:30 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Singapore
Posts: 12

My System Specs

Default

Thanks to the 2 of you!!

BTW, I intend to sell off my system in anticipation of Bulldozer. Do you guys think that Bulldozer will be punctual?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2011, 11:41 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

punctual,as in release date? if i had a mid to high end machine right now thats been going for a little while and not that i just bought?

i would sell the core components in time. once leaks start appearing it may get into the chatter and people wont pay

the coin they would pay today...:) so yeah go for it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2011, 06:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Singapore
Posts: 12

My System Specs

Default

Hi Dangtx

Yeah as in I wonder whether Bulldozer will be released by June latest and whether it will reach consumers's hands by August 2011 latest...

I live in Singapore btw where AMD is now packing its Llano APU
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2011, 06:32 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

ok, what exactly are you running now?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does SATA III in RAID 0 (on non-SSD) out performing SATA II in RAID 0 (on non-SSD)? SmallWhiteDragon Storage 15 July 19, 2011 01:19 AM
Extra internal sata port - PCI-E card JMCD Storage 6 August 20, 2010 09:43 PM
SATA Port Dead JD Troubleshooting 1 October 9, 2009 10:18 PM
nGear 4 Port SATA PCI-E1 CraigHf Peripherals 2 September 18, 2008 04:08 PM