Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2011, 06:06 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default raid 1(or 5) as back up?

just read a few articles... something like this

Why is RAID not a backup? - Server Fault

RAID is not a backup! UNIX Administratosphere

etc

so do you recommend raid for back up purpose?

i mean i have 1tb of data from seagate 7200.12 is just huge so i want to do raid 1 (or maybe 5) it with 7k1000c...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2011, 06:39 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,955

My System Specs

Default

Neither. RAID isn't a backup. If you want to have a backup you should have 2 separate hard drives. Preferable one over a network or external. Then just have a program sync the drives.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2011, 07:29 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

i see.. in my experience, i never lost my hard drives *knocks the wood*

what kind of network do you refer? nas?
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2011, 07:59 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,955

My System Specs

Default

A NAS or another computer in your home that you could keep the hard drive in. Hard drive deaths are not the only way to lose data. They are just the most common.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 08:07 PM
francisw19's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 246
Default

I agree with lowfat's comment...RAID1 isn't the ideal way to backup your data. It's fine if you want to protect against hard drive failure because its based on the idea that it's very unlikely that two (or more) hard drives won't die at the exact same time. So, when one drive dies, it's just a matter of replacing the dead drive and getting the array setup again.

However, the one big weakness of RAID1 is that if something bad happened to your data, such as getting infected by a virus for example, then that would also be mirrored over to the other drive(s) as well. This is why it's good to use a disk imaging program and a spare hard drive to backup your data.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 09:01 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

I'd back that 7200.12 1TB up ASAP!

I've had 2 of them die in the same week, RMA'd both and one of the RMA units died within hours. The other drive I used for a few days and replaced it with a Samsung. As such, I cannot recommend Seagate drives anymore.

As for "off-site" or external backups, sure it's advisable, but it depends on your situation and how important you deem your data. I'm fine with having RAID1, RAID5 and RAID10 arrays around to hold my data as I don't have anything crucial to my well-being on my PCs. Sure I could lose some priceless photos (which I have in the past before RAID'ing) but I can live on without them.

The only thing I really believe should be backed up (but probably often ignored) is any form of storage that you carry with you. Be it USB flash, external HDD, phone or laptop. Those things can be lost/stolen very easily and usually you'll never get it back.

Last edited by JD; March 6, 2011 at 09:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 09:10 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

RAID could be used as a place FOR a backup, but RAID itself isn't a backup.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 10:15 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

interesting informations... and many good points too...

jd, i did update firmware of 7200.12 so i dont think it will have a problem... i will see...

for now, i will use raid1 ( seagate/hitachi) then i will build nas to sync my computer...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2011, 09:56 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

Both my Seagates had the latest firmware, but YMMV.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2011, 01:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Default

RAID is not a backup, it is used for redundancy and availability. Using RAID as a backup target is actually a common practice especially if it is located in a different box and location. A lot of tier 1 storage providers use RAID arrays in tape library replacement backup systems.

The key is not thinking that 2 hard drives in RAID 1 are backed up. Instead think of two hard drives in RAID 1 (in a primary system) as making it less likely to have downtime in the event of a drive failure. Restoring even at 100MB/s (GigE approximate real-world/ windows speed if things are setup well, poor setup can reduce this a lot) can take hours these days for the entire process to complete and be back up and running these days.
__________________
My server site: http://www.servethehome.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does SATA III in RAID 0 (on non-SSD) out performing SATA II in RAID 0 (on non-SSD)? SmallWhiteDragon Storage 15 July 19, 2011 12:19 AM
dual 5870 toxic cards, back to back overheating. dinmaster Video Cards 10 November 4, 2010 07:24 AM
I'm back martin_metal_88 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 February 16, 2010 07:44 AM
ESata dual raid enclosure = poor man's hardware raid? sswilson Storage 10 May 6, 2008 09:58 AM