Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2011, 01:33 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 736
Default So I just bought an OCZ Vertex 2 (120GB).

I'm in the process of getting ready to install it in my main computer (I'm signed on on my second computer, the HPTC).

I'm running Windows Vista home 32-bit, so no TRIM support for me; but anything you guys'd like to say as I go through this process?

Also, keep me company--I'll be regularly checking this thread as the night progresses.

Also:


SSD master race reporting in, finally!
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2011, 02:08 PM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 449

My System Specs

Default

welcome to the ssd club, your faster than my gen 1 ssd v now...but they make the world of difference. there was nothing that i ran into as far as being different from a normal hdd, also, i just used a clone of my hdd to make it simple at that time. Best of luck man, and i have to say out of the upgrades in the last few years, it was one of the noticably snappier and performance improving upgrade
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2011, 03:07 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 736
Default

After opening my pc, there was easily a few dozen grams worth of dust in there... still havent got the computer back together to boot yet, doing a bit of cable management... :P
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2011, 03:42 PM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 449

My System Specs

Default

i have mine clean...ish...but with a recent upgrade i need a new psu, which means i skimmped on the cable managment.....will do when the new modular psu comes in....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2011, 08:19 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 600

My System Specs

Default

I'm going to assume your drive is going to be the new 25nm drives, so don't expect the same speeds as the original Vertex 2 drives. Still fast, but not as fast as the originals.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2011, 09:40 AM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 736
Default

the drive was D.O.A., have to replace it next tuesday. :/
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2011, 11:49 AM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 449

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Gruntsworthy View Post
the drive was D.O.A., have to replace it next tuesday. :/

Man...That sucks, what a bummer, heres hoping the next drive is good....
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 06:10 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 396

My System Specs

Default

I just got a OCZ Vertex 2 50GB that is on sale in NCIX. Just put it into my desktop and install Linux debian. No problem at all. Boot time is 12 secs (from the time I choose and os from the dual boot screen, to the sign on screen). It normally took 30 secs. So, I am pleased.

Got a question: Do I set ICH controller to ACHI or leave at IDE? Also, there is another Onboard controller with same options (IDE, ACHI or Raid/sata)? Right now I go them both set to ACHI.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 06:54 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sudbury, ON
Posts: 110

My System Specs

Default

Congrats on the purchase, and bummer about the DOA. Once you get it all straightened out Im sure you will be happy. BTW, im also jealous - I cant wait until I take the SSD plung!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 07:11 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,814

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post

Got a question: Do I set ICH controller to ACHI or leave at IDE? Also, there is another Onboard controller with same options (IDE, ACHI or Raid/sata)? Right now I go them both set to ACHI.
AHCI is good. That's what you should have it on
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCZ Vertex 120GB dies artistpavel Storage 30 May 11, 2011 01:24 PM
[FS] 120GB OCZ Vertex. WTT/WTB 80GB X25-M lowfat Buy/Sell & Trade 17 May 27, 2009 06:43 AM