Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 12, 2011, 12:50 AM
Rookie

Default SSD trouble

I have a 60g Ocz Vertex for my OS,windows 7 pro, and a 500g caviar black in my i7 920 rig. The vertex is at firmware 1.1 and needs to be upgraded to 1.6. Can I copy my OS from the ssd,c:, to a separate partition in my hdd,d:, so I can continue to use the computer to do the upgrades to my ssd? When I'm finished I will do a clean install of the whole thing and put it back to the old configuration. If so ,how do I do it? I'm not an expert but I have a laptop so I can look stuff up while all this is going on.
Old February 12, 2011, 01:04 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Ceate a image of the ssd on your hdd Backup and restore system software and PC system utilities for Windows and Linux OSs works well. Update the ssd with the firmware.
Restore the image stored on your hdd to the ssd, its that easy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Old February 12, 2011, 06:30 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

then use the pat tool Paragon Alignment Tool - Overview
Old February 12, 2011, 07:06 AM
MVP

You can use Clonezilla - About to create a backup image and restore after the firmware upgrade.
Old February 12, 2011, 07:34 AM
Allstar

My System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
then use the pat tool Paragon Alignment Tool - Overview
I thought Windows 7 aligns the SSD's on its own?
Old February 12, 2011, 10:21 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

it does but if ya use a backup it will not be done right ie 1024mb then you just use this tool on the said ssd but ya have to have another machine i think not sure if it works on os drive your running it off of
Old February 12, 2011, 10:33 AM
Rookie