Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2011, 07:48 PM
Ctech's Avatar
Restricted Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 40
Default JMicron Detecting ATA locked drive as damaged???

Does anyone have experience with using the IDE part of a JMicron controller (one on the 890GPA-UD3H).

More specifically, this is for an XBOX with a corrupt dashboard, HDD hotswap to the IDE, even before BIOS boots, and it will always detect the drive, BUT it says Damaged in the start up screen.

In Windows, the drive is detected, however it is inaccessible. Any apps used report the HDD is corrupt. Tried on a friends old P4 system, works fine.

Any ideas people?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2011, 02:26 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 242
Default

Check drive's master/slave/CS setting. Download and run HDD diagnostic software from vendor, e.g., Seatools, WD data lifeguard, etc. and see if drive have problems.
__________________
iK
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2011, 01:51 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Caldezar is the HWC resident master of JMicron. PM him....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
where to buy ThinkPad Serial ATA Hard Drive Bay Adapter in canada? Socrates_Johnston Mobile Computing 0 August 19, 2010 05:58 PM
HardDrive plugged into JMicron or not? Tiger Storage 13 August 14, 2009 04:40 PM
[WTB] 30-60gb SSD, must have non-Jmicron controller Jackquelegs Buy/Sell & Trade 2 June 15, 2009 06:41 PM
[FS] PCI Serial ATA Host Controller Card norfolk Buy/Sell & Trade 0 May 22, 2009 10:23 AM
Using an old ATA hard drive as the boot disk on a P5E3 Deluxe? Maplicito Troubleshooting 1 January 21, 2009 08:23 PM