Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2011, 09:23 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Default 40 TB Media Server Performance issues

I have build a media Server with following specifications,
Gigabyte GA-H55-UD3h motherboard
Processor i5 680
Dell Perc 6i Raid Card
Chenbro Expander
20 * 2Tb Western Digital Caviar Green in Raid 6 configuration
I have set Intellipark to 300secs as discussed on some forums , After installing Server 2008 R2 I transferred 3.4Tb data on the raid setup and it took 3 days . (The maximum speed reached is 30Mbps).I have set the cache block size to 512mb . I believe the speed if extremely slow , I made sure the raid card was installed in the x16 pcie slot , I might be missing something , how can I increase the performance of this media server or is it bottle neck due to hardware itself.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2011, 09:26 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,960

My System Specs

Default

Well I have no experience w/ SAS expanders. What RAID are you using? Have you looked to see how it performs compared to other PERC6i's when using that many disks? It is only just a 400MHz ROC. If you are doing a RAID5/6 w/ that many drives I don't expect it to perform all that well.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2011, 10:44 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Default

I am using Dell perc 6i Raid and Chenbro expander , it is meant for Dell Servers and definitely supports 40Tigs , I am not sure how to test the performance or factors limiting Raid 6 performance , neither do I have reference from someone who had atleast tried high capacity storage and benchmarked its read and write speeds!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2011, 11:11 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

also keep in mind that several users (not necessarily on this forum) have expressed issues and a strong dislike with WD green drives due to the power management which is built into the drive which can cause issues with RAID configurations. Especially Raid Levels 5 and 6. but i wish you all the luck on this.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2011, 11:18 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Oh yes , The WD Intelli Park feature was causing issues as the drives would fail and fall out of raid , but i enabled th intellipark to max , and now everything seems to work fine.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2011, 12:23 PM
tangrisser's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Metro Vancouver
Posts: 163
Default

I'm not sure how it would work but have you checked hard drive alignment using WD Align?
__________________
Check out my SALE page
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2011, 02:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Default

I have not done 4k alignment (only XP ???) as i thought it wasn't necessary in Raid configuration , Block Size and Cache Stripe are more relevant , and I am using GPT partition ( Allocation size = 16K ).
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 12:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Default 40Tb Raid

Flickr: Owais11's Photostream

Test REsults
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2011, 01:21 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Default

you could try rebuilding the raid array is raid 10 (two raid 5 arrays in raid 0) iv heard it gets pretty good numbers
__________________

i7 920 D0 @ 4ghz
Custum WC Loop
Asus P6X58D-E
6 Gb Corsair 1333
EVGA 760 GTX
NZXT Phantom
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2011, 01:52 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Raid 10 get's great performance but also would half the amount of storage space. It's also great for database servers due to the number of individual disks. Also raid 10 is not raid 5 in a raid 0 configuration. Raid 10 is multiple striped sets mirrored in a volume. As such there is no parity so there is less cpu overhead and the potential for disk failures without data corruption is much higher with raid 10.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Network setup for media server gigabit.. dinmaster HTPC Systems & Software 1 July 7, 2010 07:28 AM
htpc media server 99tjadams New Builds 4 November 5, 2009 06:55 PM
HTPC + Media Server; Suggestions? Wall86 HTPC Systems & Software 3 May 21, 2009 06:42 PM
media server build? cruisx New Builds 11 April 15, 2009 05:04 PM
3 Builds - WHS Media Server and 2 Mini ITX HTPC's - Thoughts needed Shftup New Builds 14 March 21, 2009 07:35 AM