Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2011, 03:43 PM
jtf2's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 167

My System Specs

Default ocz ssd v2 fw update before os install??

i have seen guides on how to update fw within windows on ocz website,can you update the fw off a usb stick before install is done on a fresh drive?
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2011, 05:52 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 625

My System Specs

Default

As of a few months ago (when I updated my Vertex 2) OCZ said "Windows is required to update the drive". They also say " The updater runs fine in Windows 7 or Vista 64-bit, it will NOT run from a 64-bit Install DVD or Recovery CD"

I just ran their tool in win7 64 and had no problems. I did read where they said that it is common to have a blue screen immediately after the update, but just reboot your PC and it will be fine. I had no blue screen and the PC restarted by itself and has been fine since.
__________________
Rig1 in "My System Specs"
Rig2: Q6600, P5DN-D, GTX650, 4GB HyperX, LG BD drive, TT armor case, ek supreme HF, 655 pump, XP
Dell XPS17 - i7 2820QM, 8GB ram, 1920x1080, BluRay, GT555m 3GB, 240gb Neutron GTX, 640GB Seagate, Win7 64
Server - i5 3450, Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe, 4GB DDR3, LSI MegaRAID 9240-8I, OCZ Vertex 4 120GB, 2x SG Barracuda 3TB(RAID1), 2x WD green 2TB(RAID1), Fractal Design Array R2, WHS 2011
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2011, 05:55 PM
jtf2's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 167

My System Specs

Default

i had a moment of stupidity lol
i just hooked up the drive on my spare rig.
weird thing is the firmware shown by crystaldisk as 1.27
yet the most current fw on ocz website is 1.24?

not sure now what to do about the flash?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2011, 06:35 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,283
Default

Usually when that happens and you have a "higher" firmware than shown it just means your SSD is brand new off the assembly line and the firmware needed to be incremented to support the newer / dif NAND used in it. Basically (assuming this is what is going on) your drive has 1.24 that has been tweaked to work with newer NAND....in other words they just swapped mfg'ers OR batches of NAND and need to add in its code to the controller. The next "offical" firmware will have these micro code updates included in it. Its nothing to panic over. BUT download the OCZ Toolbox and see what firmware IT comes back with...just in case. Ive never heard CD info screw up before but there is always room for a first time! :)

Personally, I always update the firmware BEFORE doing a build as while it is supposed to be non-destructive...why risk it (nothing sucks worse than a days worth of effort down the tube over a bricked SSD). Sticking it in as a D drive in another rig is also how I do it. ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2011, 07:01 PM
jtf2's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 167

My System Specs

Default

thanks for reply.
ocz toolbox did come back with fw 1.27.
time to start installing w7 pro
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2011, 11:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 27
Default

Mine is at 1.27 too and heres the link to the OCZ forum incase you want to read more into what is basically the same info as what AkG said.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with new SSD install Ging9 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 December 17, 2010 08:17 AM
A-Data SSD Firmware Update mjbdc07 Troubleshooting 16 June 20, 2010 05:32 AM
Touching Up SSD before OS Install FreeKnight Storage 18 March 2, 2010 06:58 AM
[FS] OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD, OCZ 3GB Triple Channel RAM Dave510 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 May 25, 2009 03:58 PM
If I update drivers or install the ATI tool tray.... Canadianguy Video Cards 7 July 28, 2007 12:34 PM