Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2011, 05:54 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default Best software for SSD

Hey guys! I'm about to install my first SSD in my system and I am curious to know what are the best maintenance software and what do yo recomend me to do. It's a kingston V+100 64GB.
I read the OCZ guide to disable page file and all these thing but I would like to know what you guys do and what you use.

Thx a lot!
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2011, 06:04 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

nothing trim and this Windows 7 - Ultimate SSD Speed Tweaks.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2011, 06:06 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

double post sorry
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2011, 09:59 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

So mostly it's by tweaking windows that you take care of your SSD. I have to admit I thaught it would have been longer. Thx Gingerbee!
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2011, 05:41 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,392
Default

Yup. You have a decent SSD there with very aggressive "ITGC", that is also TRIM aware, so it can keep itself nice and fast. Basically, those tweaks REDUCE the number of not needed writes that occur. The name of the game is reducing writes, as you only get 10K per cell (PLENTY) and thus it will last longer, AND be faster as the drive doesnt have to waste controller cycles cleaning up after those useless writes. ;)

TBH you dont have to do them all. I personally turn off defrag, move the pg file to a dif HDD, move FF temp files to ram, turn superfetch to work only on startup progs, turn off indexing and other itty bitty things but thats about it. :)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2011, 05:45 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Great I take good note of that!

Thx a lot guys!
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2011, 12:03 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,153
Default

I use FIREFOX for web-browsing and I assign the "internet cache" to a regular HDD.

SSD tweaks (name of the software) is easy to run...

Just make sure that after all is tweaked, that defrag is really disabled, same for hibernation...
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / EVGA GTX780 ACX / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2011, 12:49 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,116

My System Specs

Default

You can just disable Firefox cache. It really has no real affect on performance.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2011, 06:38 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

I might move it to HDD since I actually use it from time to time. Anyway, I will be using a Caviar blue 1TB for software drive. Now the pain begin -_- relaod all my steam game XD
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2011, 07:24 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,116

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
I might move it to HDD since I actually use it from time to time. Anyway, I will be using a Caviar blue 1TB for software drive. Now the pain begin -_- relaod all my steam game XD
Don't suppose you had them backed up? Using Steams backup and restore feature, a game only takes like 5 minutes to reinstall.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD for Developing Large Software Projects (Regular KDE builds etc.) Night Gyr Storage 0 December 22, 2010 04:42 PM
AKG and other fellow SSD gurus best sub 120$ SSD Delavan Storage 5 September 24, 2010 04:11 AM
ssd's flashfire software gingerbee Storage 0 October 17, 2009 07:22 AM
ok have to ask the ssd software question gingerbee O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 July 9, 2009 07:56 PM
Software WolfBane Networking 11 August 1, 2008 01:28 PM