Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 12:00 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 102

My System Specs

Default So my 4th Seagate 7200.11 HDD Died

Two of them were acting as back up so they receive minimal spin time yet they both died. The most recent dead drive was a recertified RMA return from Seagate. /rant/ Grr. I'm quite frustrated right now.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 12:39 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

GL with the RMA hope you haven't lose any data.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 01:27 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

i still have 3 or 4 of them working just fine but there still out there most of the ones i found that had this problem where made in china
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 01:47 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,054

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pansophic View Post
Two of them were acting as back up so they receive minimal spin time yet they both died. The most recent dead drive was a recertified RMA return from Seagate. /rant/ Grr. I'm quite frustrated right now.
This just reminded me I still have a 1TB "recertified" dead drive to RMA with them. I have had 4 (I think) die on me, needlessly to say I won't be buying them anytime soon. I even asked them on my last RMA to supply me with a 7200.12 drive due to the issues with the .11s and they said nope, I'll get whatever I get.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 02:28 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 628

My System Specs

Default

The 7200.11s have a notoriously bad reputation for being unreliable. That being said, I have had 2 of them in RAID1 for over 4 years and they are still working just fine.
__________________
Rig1 in "My System Specs"
Rig2: Q6600, P5DN-D, GTX650, 4GB HyperX, LG BD drive, TT armor case, ek supreme HF, 655 pump, XP
Dell XPS17 - i7 2820QM, 8GB ram, 1920x1080, BluRay, GT555m 3GB, 240gb Neutron GTX, 640GB Seagate, Win7 64
Server - i5 3450, Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe, 4GB DDR3, LSI MegaRAID 9240-8I, OCZ Vertex 4 120GB, 2x SG Barracuda 3TB(RAID1), 2x WD green 2TB(RAID1), Fractal Design Array R2, WHS 2011
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 04:10 PM
Blu's Avatar
Blu Blu is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta
Posts: 394

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipaine View Post
This just reminded me I still have a 1TB "recertified" dead drive to RMA with them. I have had 4 (I think) die on me, needlessly to say I won't be buying them anytime soon. I even asked them on my last RMA to supply me with a 7200.12 drive due to the issues with the .11s and they said nope, I'll get whatever I get.
That is pretty terrible of them, basically telling you NO FRESH DONKEY, YOU GET HALF DEAD DONKEY.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 04:16 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dustin1706 View Post
The 7200.11s have a notoriously bad reputation for being unreliable. That being said, I have had 2 of them in RAID1 for over 4 years and they are still working just fine.
NO they did not.

They had a bad batch in around Nov-January of 2009-2010 and that was it. It seemed to be a wide spread problem because the internet made it out to be such a HUGE deal.

People really need to read about it instead of listening to what everyone said.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 05:18 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

sorry about that. swap for wd's, those will let you know in time when its rma time, usually.

i did/do a bunch of rmas :D
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 05:37 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
NO they did not.

They had a bad batch in around Nov-January of 2009-2010 and that was it. It seemed to be a wide spread problem because the internet made it out to be such a HUGE deal.

People really need to read about it instead of listening to what everyone said.

IIRC, the reason so much was made of it was that seagate took wayyyyy toooo long to admit there was a problem and then to address the issue. Add the fact that the first "fix" (firmware update) ended up bricking a few drives and it's not surprising folks remember it.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 06:18 PM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

How do you RAID WD Blacks? They don't allow RAID? RE4's cost a hell of a lot.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
7200.11 , hard drive , rma , seagate

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
De-bricking a Seagate 7200.11 Dr_BenD_over Guides & How-to's 1 January 7, 2010 01:15 PM
Seagate 500GB died need rma advise yamawho Storage 7 July 2, 2009 02:13 PM
Seagate 7200.10 drives 486 Storage 16 November 10, 2008 01:44 PM
Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 160GB SATAII Mr. Gruntsworthy Storage 2 October 15, 2008 07:50 PM
Seagate Momentus 7200.1 vs 7200.2 vs 7200.3 2.5" Laptop HD Comparison Oversized Rooster Storage 2 September 3, 2008 11:46 AM