Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 08:30 AM
bvsbutthd101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 389

My System Specs

Default something weird happened

I was on my computer just browsing the web and my computer went to blue screen and restarted out of nowhere. When it restarted my computer said the BOOTMGR was missing. It turned out it was trying to boot from data drive which doesn't have OS on it. So I had make it boot from my SSD.

Any reason why it would randomly switch from booting from my SSD to HDD out of nowhere?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 09:22 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default

Was your system overclocked? Specs please. Are you running dual boot Operating systems?
__________________
Code:
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 09:34 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Ultimate Boot CD - Overview

start by testing ram, then get everest and check out temps, then hdtune for the drive, if no problems there, perhaps os but it wont switch boot order like that for nothing? did you lose power? or did the lights flicker?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 09:43 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Here's what I think:

If you have two hard drives in your system, is it possible that you installed windows on the second drive? If that's the case, its possible that windows still wrote its master boot record to your first hard drive. This means that any problem with your first "unused" drive will cause windows to stop booting. The first drive may have died, or just become disconnected/unplugged somehow - recheck all your connections.

If you don't have two hard drives, it could mean that the blue screen, possibly caused by a bad overclock or driver fault, caused a problem with windows as well. Meaning your data is more likely intact, but windows will not boot due to corruption. If this is the case, we'd need to know which version of windows you're using to help you further (In a nutshell though: Windows XP -> Fixmbr, Windows 7 -> restore point or use bootsect.exe)

Further information would be a good start though
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 09:44 AM
bvsbutthd101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 389

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shredder View Post
Was your system overclocked? Specs please. Are you running dual boot Operating systems?
My system is overclocked, and my HDD doesn't have an OS on it, just games and apps.
Ran memtest, passed 5 times with no errors, ran LinX 20 times everything maxed, passed with no errors, Lights never flickered, just went to blue screen, and restarted, I dont think it was a power failure, I was only browsing the web, not even playing any games. So no load was being put on. Never happened while playing games either.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 09:48 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

hows temps, in particular mobo temps? check vbatt voltage as well.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 09:58 AM
bvsbutthd101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 389

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
hows temps, in particular mobo temps? check vbatt voltage as well.
CPU: 27-29c
MOBO: 29-30c
VBATT: 3.15v
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 10:03 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Please read my last post...

You have both a SSD and a HDD, two drives. Its possible the MBR was on the HDD, even if it didn't contain any OS files...
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 10:08 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Please read my last post...

You have both a SSD and a HDD, two drives. Its possible the MBR was on the HDD, even if it didn't contain any OS files...
This is the reason why I disconnect ALL hard drives when installing Windows 7, except the boot drive (ie. SSD). After the install is totally finished, I reconnect them.

Otherwise, Windows will put crap needed to boot on other drives, which is what CMeta is suggesting.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 10:12 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

it is possible, i guess. so far ive seen it put the swap on other drives and or partitions. which is not bad. but the boot thingie? hmmmm
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What happened to him? crazyhorsejohnny HardwareCanucks F@H Team 38 July 17, 2012 08:22 AM
weird thing just happened lcdguy Gaming 9 July 1, 2010 07:56 PM
What happened? jcmaz Suggestions & Feedback 20 June 21, 2010 01:38 PM
the 1 happened bissa Storage 7 February 11, 2010 10:03 AM
What really happened? jay51 Off Topic 1 November 12, 2009 06:20 AM