Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 01:34 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default Dell Perc 6/i - Firmware Upgrade Possible?

"If your Perc isn't in a Dell-branded system, then a firmware upgrade is pretty much impossible"
- Dell "tech support"

Im getting sick and tired of trying to Upgrade the firmware on my DELL Perc 6/i and would like to know if anyone knows how to do this and actually make it work (since the dell update software checks for a dell bios on the motherboard) OR help me find a way to flash it to LSI Firmware/ Use LSI's firmware tools to flash the real Dell firmware.

I already know the Perc 6/i is based of the LSI SAS1078 chip, and that's all i have so far.

Im frustrated and tired with Dell's "oops sorry we can't do that" tech support.

Help?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 05:16 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Anyone? I've been trying to use the LSI's MegaRAID software to push the .rom file i found in update A11 for the Perc 6i firmware with no luck - it gives me a 0x13 error.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2010, 08:30 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Uppity. I refuse to let this issue go.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 09:58 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Uppity.

Hasn't anyone with a Perc 5i (which is basically the same thing, sans Raid 50 I think) ever tried to upgrade their firmware? Cmon y'all...
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 01:19 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,104

My System Specs

Default

PERC 5/i RAID Card: Tips and Benchmarks - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net

Did you take a look at this at all? If it is similar to the 5i at all then try this. When I had a PERC 5i a few years back this is the guide I followed.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 01:55 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the info Lowfat, reading through it all.... However, there is one point of confusion in that guide. It states to downgrade to 7.0.1-0061, flash, then flash again using the latest fimware... but it also says to only flash using Dell firmware?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 02:19 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,104

My System Specs

Default

Sorry I have no idea. It has been years since I've owned the card.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2010, 09:22 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Thumbs up Yes this is possible - use LSI MSM with the Dell ROM

Yes it's quite possible to do this. I have Perc 5 and Perc 6 cards running in whiteboxes that I can easily upgrade the firmware in.

Use the LSI MegaRaid utility. Then get the appropriate Perc card "hard drive firmware update" package from Dell. Extract the package so you have the .rom file. Then just use the firmware update option in the LSI MSM utility to flash that rom file to the card. Works great, no problems.

Just make sure you get the EXACT match for your particular RAID card. Otherwise you will get a firmware update error. There is a separate ROM for the Perc 6/E, the Perc 6/i, and the Perc 6/i Integrated (YES even the Perc 6/i and the Perc 6/i Integrated are NOT considered to be the same and will NOT take the same firmware).

This also works with all of the Perc 5x cards as well, with the same caveats re getting the right firmware file.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2010, 09:24 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MountainGeek View Post
Yes it's quite possible to do this. I have Perc 5 and Perc 6 cards running in whiteboxes that I can easily upgrade the firmware in.

Use the LSI MegaRaid utility. Then get the appropriate Perc card "hard drive firmware update" package from Dell. Extract the package so you have the .rom file. Then just use the firmware update option in the LSI MSM utility to flash that rom file to the card. Works great, no problems.

Just make sure you get the EXACT match for your particular RAID card. Otherwise you will get a firmware update error. There is a separate ROM for the Perc 6/E, the Perc 6/i, and the Perc 6/i Integrated (YES even the Perc 6/i and the Perc 6/i Integrated are NOT considered to be the same and will NOT take the same firmware).

This also works with all of the Perc 5x cards as well, with the same caveats re getting the right firmware file.
Im fairly certain i tried Exactly why youre describing using the .rom file from 6/i .... I suppose ill double check it again. Would you have the link to the dell drivers you used for your 6/i? It'd be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 03:40 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Talking

I spend more than 3 hours today to get it to work, here is what finally worked for me:

1.Create bootable DOS USB drive, download and follow instructions from here:
link removed:
_www_biosflash_com/bios-boot-usb-stick.htm

2.Download new BIOS from dell, in my case it was R278433:

Drivers and Downloads

3.Unpack downloaded bios on the bootable usb stick.

4.Boot from the usb drive and do update.

That worked for my Perc 6i, here are versions before and after:

Product Name Perc 6/i
before after
Package 6.2.0-0013 6.3.0-0001
FW Version 1.22.02-0612 1.22.12-0952
Bios Version 2.04.00 2.04.00
CtrlR Version 1.02-015b 1.02-015B


I hope it helps somebody, as this thread comes up high on google searches.

After I typed in that post the system refused to let me post links as I am a new user. Way to go forum.

Last edited by SugarJ; December 18, 2010 at 08:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot upgrade Vertex 2 60GB Firmware Modus Storage 10 December 1, 2010 10:07 AM
[WTB] Perc 5i or 6i card catnhat Buy/Sell & Trade 8 August 13, 2010 11:36 AM
[WTB] DELL PERC 5/i, MCR320 or similar n-sanity Buy/Sell & Trade 0 July 23, 2009 07:32 AM
Dell Inspiron 1501 CPU Upgrade BALISTX Mobile Computing 9 March 13, 2008 01:02 PM