Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2010, 10:29 AM
Triggz's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 143
Default Can I transfer files using eSATA from PC to eSATA on new laptop?

I just bought a new laptop and was wondering if I could use eSATA to transfer files. My PC has an Evga X58 board with an eSATA port in the back. The new laptop also has an eSATA port. Is it that easy?

Im pretty sure I have a cable laying around somewhere.
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Case:Antec P182
MoBo:EVGA X58 Tri Sli
CPU:Core i7 920 (Batch#3841A)
RAM:6BG Aeneon DDR3-1866MHz
GPU:EVGA GTX 285
DATA HDD:Western Digital 640GB Caviar Black (x2 soon)
OPTICAL:LG GGC-H20L Blu-Ray
PSU:Corsair HX1000W Modular
WATERBLOCK:???
RES:Swiftech
PUMP:Swiftech MCP655
Display: Sony 40" w series 1080p + Dell 2209WA
OS:Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2010, 11:09 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Probably not i don't think.

Just connect a drive to the eSATA and copy to that drop then move the same driver over to your new comp and do it that way.

I don't think you can network them through the eSATA but I could be wrong, maybe there's a way. I'm pretty sure you can't though.

You could also connect through the LAN port, and if you have gigabit lan on both comps it'll be fairly fast.


Also; Please move your system specs from your sig to your profile. There is a tab for that there, I don't think they are allowed in your signature anymore.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2010, 11:30 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

agree with Encorp. It's probably like USB, you can't plug USB into USB to transfer. The only way to know is to buy a E-sata cable and test it;)
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2010, 11:37 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

Looks like its not possible, or at the very least, not easily or often done. Here is a thread that explains it:
Can eSATA be used to connect two PCs? - AnandTech Forums
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2010, 06:14 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

I would say no. eSATA port to eSATA port is just hooking 2 drives together....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
using eSATA technix Mobile Computing 0 December 22, 2009 09:28 AM
eSata Wurmer Storage 19 July 7, 2009 02:53 PM
eSata Hotswap? enspirent Troubleshooting 3 March 24, 2009 06:06 PM
esata cardb elninio Storage 3 March 14, 2009 11:34 AM
Looking for feedback on using esata yamawho Storage 9 December 27, 2008 04:36 PM