Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2010, 02:01 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

can you use the garbage collection ?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2010, 02:22 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,322
Default

yes. It still uses its built in self maintenance routines. The problem is...SF drives have one of the worst set of "ITGC" routines in the industry. During testing for a my reviews they give me the MOST problems. I literally haven't had as much hassle keeping a drive in top performance for a review like I do with SF drives since the original Jmicron days! I've gotten to the point where I bring out my old bag of tricks and use a "Tony Trim" on them.

This is why I don't recommend SF drives for non Trim environments. And by their very nature the Revo is a NON-TRIM environment drive regardless of the OS. I have heard rumours that OCZ might be working on custom firmware to pass the TRIM command along to the controllers and I've also heard rumours they are working on a manual trim (think wiper.exe for indilinx drives) for them as well. No idea. No information and OCZ isnt talking. :)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2010, 04:13 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

I will forget this Revo for now, is there advantage to use the G.Skill Phoenix PRO over the Corsair ?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2010, 05:04 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,322
Default

The Corsair has crippled firmware. Check out our reviews on the Corsair Vs the Vertex 2 (there isnt much dif between the 100 and 120 speed wise). The dif is not huge for most situations...but expect the Corsair to be 1-2 seconds slower than the Pro in loading big programs likes Adobe CS.

YMMV but why go with a crippled version IF the dif in price isnt that big (and fits into your budget).
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2010, 05:17 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

thanks, do you have a link to this review ?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2010, 07:24 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,054

My System Specs

Default

Just in case you are still looking and are still considering the 40GB, Memory Express has it on sale for $80 (after $20 mail in rebate)

Corsair Force Series Solid State Drive, 40GB at Memory Express Computers

Or they have the 60GB for $140

Corsair Force Series Solid State Drive, 60GB at Memory Express Computers
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2010, 08:30 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,926

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipaine View Post
Just in case you are still looking and are still considering the 40GB, Memory Express has it on sale for $80 (after $20 mail in rebate)

Corsair Force Series Solid State Drive, 40GB at Memory Express Computers
WO, that is a damn good price.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2010, 11:45 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,054

My System Specs

Default

Oh I forgot to add that they also are having a special free shipping within Canada. As long as it is worth $39 or more and weights less than 50 pounds.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 09:06 AM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

I finally order the G.skill and the Corsair, I will install the Corsair in the mini-itx build and the G.skill in my gaming PC for replace the Intel, this one will go in my laptop, thanks everyone for the help
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SDD/ HDD Raid0 Dilemma Minimal DJ Storage 1 September 10, 2009 08:50 PM
help help fast hohohee Storage 14 July 30, 2009 07:21 PM
Its actually fast now Eagle Eye Off Topic 14 May 9, 2009 12:11 AM
The Barcelona is fast, REALLY FAST!: AMD Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 2 April 25, 2007 08:02 AM