Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 06:55 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default These SSD's you guys are all talkin' about...

Are damn awesome!

Just got my first one set up.. I can now play Starcraft II at 23210832109839280329 x the speed of light!
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 07:03 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

I think your math or decimal point is a little off and i've found that SC2 gets no real loading benefit from an ssd as well you can only load a multiplayer as fast as the slowest guy
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 08:03 AM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Smile Storage

I'm no expert or any kind of authority but with a second SSD being used as a gaming HD, there seems to be a noticeable difference to me. Enough to justify the expense? Well, that's up to the individual.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 08:06 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,794

My System Specs

Default

My Steam Apps loaded on my SSD = lightening fast load times (vs loading from a HDD) !
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 08:58 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
I think your math or decimal point is a little off and i've found that SC2 gets no real loading benefit from an ssd as well you can only load a multiplayer as fast as the slowest guy
I don't care about that... I just want to get INTO the login screen faster.

Worth it for me LOL
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 09:41 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,794

My System Specs

Default

It certainly make "re-boots" far less painful ;)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 10:08 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

You know what was painful?

Changing the location of my Chrome cache folder!

JESUS that was annoying.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 10:23 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,798

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp View Post
You know what was painful?

Changing the location of my Chrome cache folder!

JESUS that was annoying.
Chrome barely caches to the drive anyways.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 10:42 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 67
Default

just remember not to get games that need to run off the CD LOL or else the whole idea is defeated
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 10:57 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Chrome barely caches to the drive anyways.
@_@

Where did you hear that?

I was told the opposite. heh.

Anyways, it's changed now - I moved it to an HDD I use a scratch disk for all my programs.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What do you guys think of this? Keltron 3030 Cases 10 October 1, 2010 06:57 PM
AKG and other fellow SSD gurus best sub 120$ SSD Delavan Storage 5 September 24, 2010 03:11 AM
what do you guys think? _dangtx_ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 17 October 21, 2009 10:42 PM
Please Help, You Guys. shayan288 Troubleshooting 28 October 18, 2008 03:31 PM
Hi Guys blogz101 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 July 28, 2008 07:09 PM