Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 02:25 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 67
Default 2 hard drive failures in one year...and a 3rd coming

Oh man am I cursed or something I have had two hard drives die on me this year. I use them for gaming probably 3-4 hours a day. i take care of these things making sure there's cooling/air flow. Ensure no impact/shock to the case/drive.

One drive is a Seagate 500gb and the other one I cannot recall as its been 6 months. The Seagate I RMAed back recently is on its way to heaven again....

I'm not using it all day, there are no voltage spikes/abnormal power downs.

So if anyone's got tips besides Defrag/cooling/shock prevention I'd love to hear it :D

Evenutally i'm going to give up and just use SSDs for all my PC's OS
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 02:36 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

were they hooked to the same power connector on the psu? ;)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 05:20 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,054

My System Specs

Default

Are they all seagates? Perhaps they are 7200.11 drives?

If so don't feel bad I have had many a fail on me, different machines, different psu's and still failures. I currently have a dead 500GB and 1TB ready to RMA and still have a 1TB that was a replacement. I suggest trying to get WD drives.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 06:07 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,911

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipaine View Post
Are they all seagates? Perhaps they are 7200.11 drives?

If so don't feel bad I have had many a fail on me, different machines, different psu's and still failures. I currently have a dead 500GB and 1TB ready to RMA and still have a 1TB that was a replacement. I suggest trying to get WD drives.
And I have 8 1.5TB Seagate 7200.11's that have worked absolutely flawlessly.

Every manufacturer has failures, nothing you can really do about it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 06:31 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,917
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
And I have 8 1.5TB Seagate 7200.11's that have worked absolutely flawlessly.

Every manufacturer has failures, nothing you can really do about it.
using what PSU and how connected, OP needs to know for to check if set-up is ok

mite be under rated psu causing failures or dirty power feeding computer corrupting disk data

use a smart-ups for clean power and back-up power for them brown outs, flecks of loss power

also crappy power connectors loosing connection intermittenly
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 10:15 PM
Galcobar's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Richmond, B.C.
Posts: 437

My System Specs

Default

Friend whose computer I built went through four Seagate 7200.12 1TB drives in three months -- two sets of two.

Eventually said to heck with it, paired an Intel X-25M 80GB with a WD Caviar Black 650GB. I suspect a manufacturing defect in the spindles, since all four failed physically, not electronically, to the point where spinning up caused the drives to rattle across the desk like a phone on vibrate. They were mounted vertically. Since all were from NCIX, I wonder if we got a bad batch, say a Friday afternoon set.

No issues in the year since with the replacement drives, paired with the same power supply and in the same vertical mounts.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 10:22 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
And I have 8 1.5TB Seagate 7200.11's that have worked absolutely flawlessly.

Every manufacturer has failures, nothing you can really do about it.
Yar, it's the luck of the draw unless you get a Seagate ES rated drive (enterprise class sata)
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 12:48 AM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,231

My System Specs

Smile Storage

Do the rma thing. Hopefully you'll get a good one this time. it seems they made some with some flaws. I understand that has been rectified, but who knows.

Worst case scenario would be to replace them with either Samsung F3 6gb/sec or my preference, WD Black 6gb/s.

Good luck with your rma.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 10:30 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 67
Default

Using an ULTRA LSP 650W, the other PC that had the mystery drive that may either be seagate or hitachi was Corsair 450W there's no huge load on the 450W its just an HTPC. No CD/DVD, HD 4670 video card. C2D CPU.

The LSP 650W uses a Q6600, 4gb PC1066, GTX470, DVD Rom, and it was a 500gb seagate
I try to run all the powers seperately as there are ample connections for me to work with.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 11:26 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

I saw this thread title and knew right away it was seagate. They fail with the seasons. Expect to RMA it when winter comes.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I set my second hard drive as a "data drive"? lsquare Storage 11 March 19, 2010 09:11 PM
[WTB] Hard Drive flightsimnerd Buy/Sell & Trade 9 February 20, 2010 10:16 AM
58xx series coming this year? Caldezar Press Releases & Tech News 10 September 7, 2009 07:44 PM
Hard drive WolfBane Storage 8 July 24, 2008 12:08 PM
(PR) Two New Hitachi CinemaStar Hard Drives Coming Soon to a Home Theater Near You Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 28, 2008 11:25 AM