Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 11:53 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,428
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTA View Post
hmmm... should i trust your advice about disable pagefile now?

two kits of 12gb... you mean 2x6gb ram? mobo never carries 6 ram slots (6x2gb)... (sorry if i dont understand you)


btw... 100cdn vertex 2 is still not found... it drove me crazy... have to drive to see them soon...

I run without a page file, and I have 6gb of ram. I've never had an issue. Ask around if you'd like to make sure.

Yes. 6x2gb sticks.

Btw: I bought the Corsair 60gb for 120.00 on ncix during their last sale. It'll be here soon.. I was told it is a fine drive.. I don't know myself yet, though. lol
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 12:01 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: langley (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,244
Default

cool... you are right... (i check the picture...)

ok i will grab 6gb and see if i have problem... if do then will grab another one...

g.skill ripjaws 1600 for $139 (mushkin blackline is not available :?)
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, XFX 750W, i7 4770k, supreme hf, GA-Z87X-OC Force, 16gb gskill ripjaws 2133mhz , xfx hd6950 CF. 128gb intel 520, wd blue and toshiba 1tb, mcp355 + EK-XRES , 2x ar697, 2x PXM360, 12x AC F12 fans, 12 x shroud, STT 123W fan filter. 2442.88CDN
OLD: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 12:18 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,428
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTA View Post
cool... you are right... (i check the picture...)

ok i will grab 6gb and see if i have problem... if do then will grab another one...

g.skill ripjaws 1600 for $139 (mushkin blackline is not available :?)
Bah; guess not.. I havn't followed Mushkin stock in ages; although it's always my RAM of choice.. hell I ordered my redlines straight from the US just to get em! LOL

g.skill are fine too... 139 is a good price.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 12:29 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,958

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp View Post
You can run without a page file on 6gb NO PROBLEM.
Very debatable. Try playing Crysis.
__________________
The Crippled God WIP
Queen of Dreams WIP
Big Lian Li
Complete
Forever Alone Complete
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 12:58 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,428
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Very debatable. Try playing Crysis.
It's why I asked him to ask around.

I also don't play garbage games that have pretty graphics for no reason that are built on shitty, leaky engines, so I don't have first hand knowledge of it.

I do edit video using VERY large files for motion pictures however, and I've had zero problems.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 01:43 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,034
Default

run with LOTs of ram....move pg file to a hdd. Win win. No need to worry about problems coming out of the blue that way. :)

TBH 9 times out 10 LOTS of ram means you wont need pg file....BUT that other 1....THATS the one that creeps up behind you and buggers up your day. :(

YMMV but SSD for the os w/ 6GB of ram + hdd is a good option. SSD for os + 12gb of ram + hdd is better. All depends on your budget.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 01:49 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,562

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
SSD cons:

1. They cost an arm and a leg compared to HDs.
2. They provide very little real-world performance benefit outside of boot and login times.

If I were you, I wouldn't get an SSD. It's not worth it.

-An SSD owner
Winner winner, chicken dinner! I'm fine with windows taking 30 seconds to load instead of 10. I'll wait until I can get a 500gb SSD for <$200, at the least.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 02:21 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kommie986 View Post
What about a high RPM HDD?
Basically just slower SSDs with more storage. You're not going to notice a difference most of the time as long as you already have a pretty fast machine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp View Post
Now you can go back to telling zero off and giving him ski'ing lessons at the same time. ;)
You bastard, you promised that you were going to give me skiing lessons!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 03:23 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,428
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by headsh0t View Post
Winner winner, chicken dinner! I'm fine with windows taking 30 seconds to load instead of 10. I'll wait until I can get a 500gb SSD for <$200, at the least.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
Basically just slower SSDs with more storage. You're not going to notice a difference most of the time as long as you already have a pretty fast machine.
Bah! Zero. YOU RUN AN SSD in your system. And don't tell me you don't like it, cause it's listed in your build.

Besides, last time I checked boot and load times WERE real world. They sure are not synthetic benchmarks; thats for sure.

I've -always- ran my os on it's on boot drive, with another drive set up for my page file and other swap/temp folders and another drive set up for software/games and yet another for storage.

So replacing a 640gb drive with a 120.0 60gb SSD is completely worth it.

I'll boot and load faster..and since the only computers do is boot up and then read and write to memory and drives - there's no reason not to.

I love when computer enthusiasts are unenthusiastic :P
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 03:27 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: langley (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,244
Default

alright... i will get another 6 gb later... right now... i want to spend on wc parts too... thats what i am planning to ask next... ;p

btw... i got ocz vertex 2 60gb for 130cdn + 30off rebate and 47cdn for seagate 7000.12 1tb... pretty good deal...

so thanks everyone... and big thank to xeven... 100cdn on 60gb sdd is pretty good...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, XFX 750W, i7 4770k, supreme hf, GA-Z87X-OC Force, 16gb gskill ripjaws 2133mhz , xfx hd6950 CF. 128gb intel 520, wd blue and toshiba 1tb, mcp355 + EK-XRES , 2x ar697, 2x PXM360, 12x AC F12 fans, 12 x shroud, STT 123W fan filter. 2442.88CDN
OLD: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can it be done? yesssirrybob! [56k and slow cons/ppl beware] _dangtx_ Off Topic 9 July 25, 2010 03:47 PM
Samsung SyncMaster T240HD 24IN Pros/Cons? sswilson Display Units 5 June 30, 2009 02:28 PM
Office pros and cons? CactusJoe O/S's, Drivers & General Software 20 February 11, 2009 07:29 PM
HTPC OS Pros & Cons aero_guy HTPC Systems & Software 11 April 2, 2008 08:14 PM
Lapping, Pros & Cons, difficulty CasheKicker CPU's and Motherboards 19 March 11, 2008 10:32 PM