Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2007, 06:57 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

OK, since it didnt seem worth it I scrapped the RAID idea and an getting anther ds3L

thanks for the input though!
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2007, 04:53 PM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

As domino seems to have made up mind I feel no shame in thread jacking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaleF View Post
You don't need to use the same drives for an array, it just gives the best performance.
JBOD arrays were never part of the conversation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaleF View Post
Also, it's not impossible to pull data off of a single RAID5 drive, there is software out there to do it, but is isn't that hard to do.
Can you back that statement up with some actual links to actual software?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2007, 05:03 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

DaleF is right. You can RAID-0 a 250GB and a 500GB drive if you feel like it, but the total capacity will be 500GB and performance will be impacted.

Honestly though, the best backup system (imo) is one that does not run windows, and does not reside inside your computer tower. NAS units are great.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2007, 08:46 PM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

Yes there are a number of ways you can use mixed drive sizes in RAID systems. You are reiterating my point; if you do this you will be wasting large parts of the disk space. I think this is a bad thing for the average home user. Most people would be better off with a working backup solution than a RAID-for-redundancy solution.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2007, 11:03 AM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Misoprostol View Post
DaleF is right. You can RAID-0 a 250GB and a 500GB drive if you feel like it, but the total capacity will be 500GB and performance will be impacted.

Honestly though, the best backup system (imo) is one that does not run windows, and does not reside inside your computer tower. NAS units are great.
my old htpc p3-s tualatin rig is going to become a NAS rig, been with her too long to chuck her ;)
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2007, 02:16 PM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by donimo View Post
my old htpc p3-s tualatin rig is going to become a NAS rig, been with her too long to chuck her ;)
Check out FreeNAS. I built a NAS with it out of an old PIII 600 and it (mostly) worked great. Simple to set up, boots from CF card or USB stick, simple to administer, and fast.

My only problem was I could never get the RAID 5 to work properly and there was little support for that. If you just want to share out a couple large drives then I recommend FreeNAS.

FreeNAS: The Free NAS Server - Home

I see there is a new build since the last time I tried it. I will have to see if this works better for RAID 5.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD-HTPC Idea. BALISTX HTPC Systems & Software 10 March 13, 2008 05:31 AM
looking for a raid card that does 0+1 cujo Storage 0 March 10, 2008 11:14 AM
My AMD T-Shirt Idea BALISTX Off Topic 25 January 22, 2008 03:05 PM
Raid 0 set up correctly? SyrousPL Storage 8 December 4, 2007 02:49 PM
raid help Jhayman Troubleshooting 9 November 8, 2007 01:10 PM