Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 11:57 AM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default SSD as Boot Disk, HDD for Others

Hi, I was wondering how it would work if you used a SSD for the OS only, and the HDD for other stuff (programs). I know some programs creates folders in "My Documents" with all the settings and preferences saved (ex: BFBC2). So if you installed say BFBC2 in your HDD (Drive E), would it keep the configuration files in your SSD (Drive C) or your HDD (Drive E)? (Drive D being your optical drive).
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 12:22 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

By default, yes...

There are some registry hacks to move the C:\Users to somewhere else, but I was never brave enough to try any of them.
I've been running with a small OS partition on one drive and the rest on other drives for a while, but I just let programs put the config data into drive C: since attempting to move them may cause problems depending on how much hard-coding the developers did in their programs.

You can move most of the folders using the following method: Windows 7 - Moving My Documents
However, the largest chunk of program configurations is actually stored in C:\Users\<youruser>\AppData, which cannot be moved without registry hacks.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 01:03 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,353

My System Specs

Default

I have my pc set up with my OS on the SSD and everything else either portable on a seperate drive or in a program files folder on my standard hard drive I have been running this way ever since I installed the SSD . you can setup allot of programs to save things onto the hard drive ibnstead of the SSD , it is a bit of a hassle but I do it with every program that I cannot make into a portable program. why I did this is becasue I hate having to reinstall everything if my OS becomes un repairable
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 01:08 PM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

Thanks a lot! I think I'll just leave it as default. I'll probably be getting a 120GB SSD anyways, so some config files won't take up that much.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 01:25 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

no point in my opinion
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"disk boot failure insert system disk" plutomok Troubleshooting 3 May 30, 2010 01:13 PM
New Build / Disk Boot problems... Toyuko Troubleshooting 13 September 19, 2009 04:57 PM
Disk Boot Failure - Insert system disk and press enter? lanken123 Troubleshooting 5 May 13, 2009 07:23 AM
My Boot settings (Bootsect.bak/Boot directory) installed to another HDD? chouchou Troubleshooting 7 December 21, 2008 07:46 PM
Disk Boot Failure Unklmo Troubleshooting 9 September 19, 2007 03:48 PM