Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2010, 08:10 PM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default

Well, left it running when I left for work and apparently the power flickered, so rather than waiting for the scan another damn 12 hours or so, I screwed around just to see how quick some of the other ones are. This is the strange part:
I started a read test (I think), and after a couple seconds, it comes up saying a sector has an ecc error.
I ran a sector repair scan and it came up again. Honestly cant remember if it claimed it fixed it or not, but after several other scans it did not come up again. It went through a full sector scan just now without error. So, I will run a full wipe tomorrow and if it survives, then I guess I am going to take my chances with it.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2010, 08:24 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

ok. but i wouldnt. your data/time/hair on thine scalp are more important.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2010, 09:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 31

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clone63 View Post
Well, left it running when I left for work and apparently the power flickered, so rather than waiting for the scan another damn 12 hours or so, I screwed around just to see how quick some of the other ones are. This is the strange part:
I started a read test (I think), and after a couple seconds, it comes up saying a sector has an ecc error.
I ran a sector repair scan and it came up again. Honestly cant remember if it claimed it fixed it or not, but after several other scans it did not come up again. It went through a full sector scan just now without error. So, I will run a full wipe tomorrow and if it survives, then I guess I am going to take my chances with it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
ok. but i wouldnt. your data/time/hair on thine scalp are more important.
I agree with dangtx. I had the same situation and it 'resolved' itself with repaired sectors with a thorough checkdisk or other such utility. A few months later it was dead. The problem was 1) lost my data unexpectedly and 2) it was now outside warranty time

RMA it if you can
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Going for new Hard drive apos2009 Storage 0 April 8, 2010 03:17 AM
How do I set my second hard drive as a "data drive"? lsquare Storage 11 March 19, 2010 09:11 PM
[WTB] Hard Drive flightsimnerd Buy/Sell & Trade 9 February 20, 2010 10:16 AM
hard drive mirror tzetsin Troubleshooting 14 May 17, 2009 12:36 AM
Hard drive WolfBane Storage 8 July 24, 2008 12:08 PM