Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2010, 03:11 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default Intel Trim Function App

Anyone ever tried running the Trim function within Intel Tool box on a Vertex drive? The Vertex drive shows up in my Intel Tool Box....with this bugger it or is it even possible? Good one for AkG
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2010, 03:15 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

why not just use wiper.exe it does the same thing. i use it on all indilinx ssd
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2010, 03:20 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,327
Default

I dont think it works. Never had a reason to try. The wiper covers off Indi drives nicely and IS supported. Actually, id be very surprised if it did work.

The tool box feature is basically sending a special command that the Intel drive "listens" for and when it gets it...treats it as if it was the "real" trim command. Sort of like how the wiper.exe program works for indinlix drives ("amazing" how Intels does things almost EXACTLY the same way as Indi who had it out first. /whistle). So unless its the same code in both sets of firmware...... it aint going to work and the controller will just treat it as gibberish....assuming the software would even let you do it. ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2010, 04:14 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Ok....great, thanks guys. I've always just "periodically" left my Notebook on the Log-in screen to allow the Auto Trim function to do its thing with the Vertex Drive.....seems this was the way to do it for those drives.....so, wiper.exe is an application (available for download?) to manually run Trim on my Vertex? Pardon my ignorance but its been a long time since I've done any SSD homework..... ;)
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2010, 05:15 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,327
Default

No real need to do more then what you are doing. Hell, 1.5 firmware is VERY mature and has a very nice and tweaked "ITGC" routines built in. Anytime the sys in not being used....even reading a long ass web page is long enough...its does some self cleaning. Wiper.exe is indeed downloadable from OCZ should be on their downloads support page. BUT the question is....do you need it?
Is your laptop running win 7. In achi mode w/ msachi or intel rst drivers? If yes to all three...you have REAL trim and no need for what amounts to an on demand ITGC (wiper is more like ITGC then trim per say....semantics I know ;) ) and you dont even need to let the sys idle as TRIM commands are being auto sent to your drive for you by the OS. ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2010, 08:04 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Thanks A
Yep everything is covered then (I researchd it pretty good n advice from you many months ago) and did flash the Vertex to 1.5, also W7, ahci mode and latest Intel Drivers....

btw...I did download and run wiper.exe.....then ran AS SSD Benchmark and scored about the same..so all is working fine.....yeah I'm a true geek I guess ..had to have two SSD's in my Notebook ;) (both have been excellent)......

.....I was just bored looking for something to do with my SSD's ;)
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Chipset Driver Brings TRIM Support to RAID Setups FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 11 October 3, 2010 10:30 PM
Intel Raid driver with TRIM; anybody try this yet? chrisk Storage 10 March 21, 2010 12:04 PM
Intel Releases Solid-State Drive Toolbox and TRIM Firmwave Update for SSD's [PR] FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 6 October 28, 2009 01:45 AM
Which SSDs have Auto-Trim function? AERo Storage 31 October 15, 2009 06:17 AM
Search function Eldonko Suggestions & Feedback 3 May 25, 2008 07:09 PM