Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 17, 2010, 10:06 AM
Top Prospect
F@H

My System Specs

Default Hard Drive upgrade

I've been using the same 320GB seagate 7200.10 for a number of years now as my primary HDD (OS/programs/games/music) and I think it's finally time to upgrade to a faster boot drive. I'm wondering what the most economical way of doing this would be. I'm leaning towards getting an SSD but it would have to be around 100GB (possibly the OCZ Vertex 96GB) so I could keep the OS and most programs on it still.

Is that a good SSD to go with? Would I notice a significant improvement in boot and load times? The large data read/write speed isn't as much a concern to me as boot and load times. Is there a better SSD option for around $200? I'm pretty new to SSD technology I'm just getting sick of the slowness of my current drive.

Any input is appreciated. TIA.
Old August 17, 2010, 10:19 AM
Hall Of Fame

well quite literally, anything Solid State is drastically superior to Mechanical, no matter what.

I'm not the one to ask about SSDs though (I dont even own one yay!) - but there's a handy search button you can use to find some nice recommendations. specifically posts made by AkG.
Old August 17, 2010, 02:53 PM
Top Prospect
F@H

My System Specs

I did read through a few posts before but just went back and read this one (New SSD drives) which I had initially skipped over and seems to have some good info.

The Intel G2 or OCZ Vertex 1 seems to be a good place to start my only concern now is whether to get ~80GB and limit what I put on it to OS + a few games or get ~128GB and put OS + SC2 + steam library + other everyday applications (office, firefox, itunes, etc.)

Options:
Intel X25-M G2 80GB - $220
OCZ Vertex 96GB Indilinx - $175 after mir
Kingston V series gen II 128GB - $215