Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2010, 11:28 AM
Helix's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 100

My System Specs

Default Corsair F120 has Slow Writes

I just did a CrystalDiskMark run, and compared it to the results obtained from the CF120 review, and the results are not exactly satisfactory. The read times are all good, however the write times are all way off.

4k: 58.7 in review, I got 19.91
512k: 138.7 in review, I got 83.65
Sequential: 140.4 In review, I got 85.63

All the reads aside from 4k are higher than results obtained in the review. Any ideas to what is slowing down the writes?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2010, 12:32 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,035

My System Specs

Default

That does seem really slow.

Have you checked the drivers you have? Are you using the Microsoft drivers or Intel ones? Also is it running in ACHI or IDE?

One other thing if you just run a bunch of cdm tests in a row it seems to affect performance.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2010, 02:27 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,815

My System Specs

Default

Most say not to use CDM with SSDs because it quickly degrades them. Best to use ATTO.

As such, looks like your suffering from a degraded SSD. If you're on Windows 7, let TRIM go to work by leaving your PC idle overnight. Should hopefully correct things.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2010, 07:12 PM
Helix's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 100

My System Specs

Default

After letting it idle all afternoon (about 6 hours) I see no change from before.

The controller is in AHCI, though I'm not sure what you are referring to as the drivers. I do have the Intel chipset drivers installed.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2010, 08:17 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,815

My System Specs

Default

Then you may want to consider giving it a full wiping (follow whatever guides Corsair provides). That should effectively restore it, but you'll also have to re-install everything...

Friend of mine had to do that with his Vertex 2 50GB to get his write speed back to normal.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Site Slow? TopDogZero Suggestions & Feedback 25 March 30, 2010 08:34 AM
Corsair Showcases Computer Build with the Corsair 800D and H50 FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 2 October 2, 2009 12:22 AM
PC slow down ? Kilauea Troubleshooting 12 September 11, 2009 08:54 AM
REALLY slow Digikid Suggestions & Feedback 12 March 24, 2009 02:39 PM
Slow internet on one pc Phobia Networking 7 March 19, 2009 09:38 PM