Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2010, 11:02 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

well normally the chipset sata plugins will have more "plugins" or you can check MB book for what is what. but yes sometimes the secondary ports can run slower but not normally.

normally the spare ports are just run off of a controller chip on the motherboard (jmicron)
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2010, 09:43 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Default

ah, heh. your right; the 2 spd_hdd ports i am using are JMicron JMB363, while the side ports are Intel P55 SATA Connectors. So go with the P55 SATA?

the come in pairs, for RAID i assume, if i drop in my WD drive i just have to make sure they arent paired in the same groupings? or will it not matter because they are obviously radically different drives.

until this weekend i have never thought much about harddrives. flashy thigns always steal my energy. so much to know.

btw, the SSD is running, and its so much better. Windows snaps to attention, and things like starcraft 2 arent even the same games. thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2010, 04:38 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Niagara, Canada
Posts: 11

My System Specs

Default

I have an ASUS Rampage and I found that the setup in the bios can be very finicky with multiple drives (I have 4/s ssds) The first thing I did was checked in Win7 administrative tools and it was there so I formatted it but it would not boot at all once recognized. I then had to play around with the boot order in bios. My boot, for some reason has to be set for my WD drive as the primary boot for the ssd drive to boot. Its actually a pretty common thing with ASUS mobos from what I read.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2010, 01:03 AM
THS THS is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 88

My System Specs

Default

Just like stated before, a clean start is best when it comes to SSDs.

Put OS on the SSD, install 500GB after and use that for storing junk.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD issue xXxRithxXx Storage 5 April 22, 2010 04:45 PM
Trim enabling and ssd toolbox issue BT! Storage 35 January 23, 2010 12:14 AM
F@H issue martin_metal_88 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 September 15, 2009 03:20 PM
Issue :[ DavidDemise Troubleshooting 56 March 22, 2009 08:04 AM
Overclocking Issue? Corpus Masochist Troubleshooting 21 April 14, 2008 05:57 AM