Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2010, 08:42 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

Easier and more precise way:

1) setup your system w/ win 7
2) install amd drivers
3) run cdm
4) DL and run freespace cleaner HERE....BUT do NOT tick the FF option (just run it "as is"). This will write all nasty 0's to the drive. making it extremely degraded
5) run freespace 3 times just to make sure ALL unused NAND cells are nice and dirty including all the over-provisioned cells ;)
6) rerun CDM

for extra bonus points:
7) run freespace cleaner once WITH FF option ticked to "clean" the drive and get it out of a degraded state
8) install MS AHCI drivers
9) run cdm
10) run freespace cleaner with OUT FF option three times to get it dirty
11) rerun cdm

post all sets of results ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2010, 08:43 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

eh i see that others have pointed out what i was talking about. waiting benchmarks. thanks jay51 try some sleep it helps ha ha
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2010, 09:00 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
Easier and more precise way:

1) setup your system w/ win 7
2) install amd drivers
3) run cdm
4) DL and run freespace cleaner HERE....BUT do NOT tick the FF option (just run it "as is"). This will write all nasty 0's to the drive. making it extremely degraded
5) run freespace 3 times just to make sure ALL unused NAND cells are nice and dirty including all the over-provisioned cells ;)
6) rerun CDM

for extra bonus points:
7) run freespace cleaner once WITH FF option ticked to "clean" the drive and get it out of a degraded state
8) install MS AHCI drivers
9) run cdm
10) run freespace cleaner with OUT FF option three times to get it dirty
11) rerun cdm

post all sets of results ;)
got all tools, c/p this... im good to go..
Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
eh i see that others have pointed out what i was talking about. waiting benchmarks. thanks jay51 try some sleep it helps ha ha
i did sleep for couple hrs.. sleep is over rated...
benchmarks coming..:)
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"

Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2010, 10:34 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,509

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
Easier and more precise way:

1) setup your system w/ win 7
2) install amd drivers
3) run cdm
4) DL and run freespace cleaner HERE....BUT do NOT tick the FF option (just run it "as is"). This will write all nasty 0's to the drive. making it extremely degraded
5) run freespace 3 times just to make sure ALL unused NAND cells are nice and dirty including all the over-provisioned cells ;)
6) rerun CDM

for extra bonus points:
7) run freespace cleaner once WITH FF option ticked to "clean" the drive and get it out of a degraded state
8) install MS AHCI drivers
9) run cdm
10) run freespace cleaner with OUT FF option three times to get it dirty
11) rerun cdm

post all sets of results ;)
My understanding was that just installing/partitioning wont clean the drive, thus for steps 1 through 3, the first CDM with AMD drivers may not be an accurate read of a 'clean' drive to dirty to see if trim is working. Is this a misunderstanding of mine?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2010, 10:37 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

True. But unless the drive has been used hard, it should have enough free non degraded cells for a single CDM run.
And even a "normal" dirty drive vs a totally 100% dirty drive will be night and day in the dif. SF drives get UGLY when totally degraded.

But good point. Assumption is never a good thing :)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2010, 10:46 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

burning my .iso for fresh install now .. be back with results ASAP..
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"

Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2010, 12:14 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
Easier and more precise way:

1) setup your system w/ win 7
2) install amd drivers
3) run cdm
4) DL and run freespace cleaner HERE....BUT do NOT tick the FF option (just run it "as is"). This will write all nasty 0's to the drive. making it extremely degraded
5) run freespace 3 times just to make sure ALL unused NAND cells are nice and dirty including all the over-provisioned cells ;)
6) rerun CDM

for extra bonus points:
7) run freespace cleaner once WITH FF option ticked to "clean" the drive and get it out of a degraded state
8) install MS AHCI drivers
9) run cdm
10) run freespace cleaner with OUT FF option three times to get it dirty
11) rerun cdm

post all sets of results ;)
here are my results , one thing imunsure of tho is if i left freespacecleanear running long enough, is it suppose to end or just keep looping ? i let it run awhile 30-40 passess..

EDIT im getting new results now, figured out the frespacecleaner,,it takes awhile,i need patience ..haha

ok here we go
MS AHCI DRIVER WITH FF


MS AHCI WITHOUT FF AFTER 3 RUNS




AMD RESULTS SOON ...
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"


Last edited by jay51; August 14, 2010 at 01:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2010, 03:06 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

AMD AHCI DRIVER +FRESH INSTALL


AMD AHCI AFTER 3 RUNS SFC


so from the looks of these here results, is itsafe to say i want to use the MS Driver?
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"


Last edited by jay51; August 14, 2010 at 03:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2010, 04:02 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,509

My System Specs

Default

Looks to me like trim IS being passed with the MS drivers. You're getting approximately 100/120/8 writes clean and dirty with the MS driver, and only 50/45/8 writes with the AMD AHCI driver. This puts it to rest in my mind with this particular chipset of AMD's. What AMD chipset is this with for the record?

Awesome work Jay. Hopefully we can refer to this thread the next time this pops up. Thanks so much for your hard work!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2010, 04:45 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,058

My System Specs

Default

Great work jay, should help out those with AMD.

But I do have one question, why still using CDM 1? They are up to version 3 now. I'm not sure if it would make a difference or not with results but I think that is the version most people are using. Actually does anyone know if there are any differences with regards to results with version 1 - 3 of CDM?
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ssd all-in-one tool gingerbee O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 February 11, 2010 04:40 PM
G.SKILL Falcon 64GB Indilinx 2.5IN ? dadzilla Storage 5 December 29, 2009 07:17 PM
Status bwm HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 December 2, 2009 06:00 PM
[WTB] 60Gb+ SSD indilinx or intel Akai Buy/Sell & Trade 0 November 27, 2009 03:07 PM