Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2010, 10:35 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,103

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by catnhat View Post
Thanks for the info. I guess what I was hoping for was an array that behaved like a JBOD but had parity in case one drive would fail. I would also like to just be able to add drives as capacity is needed and always buy the current biggest drive to maximize storage.

Doesn't sound like RAID5 would do that for me.

From what I was able to figure out: what I was originally looking for was developed by Drobo in their "BeyondRAID" format. unfortunately its not widespread and I am not paying that kinda money for a Drobo box.
Add another drive to my RAID 5 array with Perc 5/i? - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2010, 12:10 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by catnhat View Post
Thanks for the info. I guess what I was hoping for was an array that behaved like a JBOD but had parity in case one drive would fail. I would also like to just be able to add drives as capacity is needed and always buy the current biggest drive to maximize storage.

Doesn't sound like RAID5 would do that for me.

From what I was able to figure out: what I was originally looking for was developed by Drobo in their "BeyondRAID" format. unfortunately its not widespread and I am not paying that kinda money for a Drobo box.
If i remember correctly Raid 5 doesn't reall do that. You would need something like ZFS or use WHS since it just sticks all the drives into a big pool of drives. it doesn't care what the size is it just adds it. If you want have a duplicate copy of the files on a share you just enable fiel duplication. Also keep in mind that if your going to be working with arrays larger than 2TB on windows you will need to us an OS that supports GPT instead of MBR.

Awesome place for resources on the Perc5i. I actually bought my perc (when i had it) from there. Cost around $125 USD shipped with a BBU but no back plates or fans.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 07:44 AM
Brad P's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 11
Default

I bought this card after weeks of looking for an affordable HW raid solution.

five sata port hardware raid bridge offer level 0, 10, 5 and JBOD

I should be getting it any day but only have one drive purchased for it thus far. I need a few more yet. I am going to hook up a few Samsung 2TB F3 drives once I get some more.

It hooks up to a empty SATA port and power is from a floppy connector. The card tricks the mobo to think its using one drive when in fact it can be multiple drives.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2010, 07:37 AM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: St Albert
Posts: 37
Default

That is an interesting looking controller for that price. Although without cache it sounds like there may be a bottle neck.

I think I will continue to look for a used perc 5i or 6i card for my performance RAID. However I have also continued my research on cheaper solutions for a less performance intensive solution to keep archived data.

I came across this and thought it was very interesting performance comparison between the popular onboard intel RAID vs. Windows 7 sw Raid. The part I didn't expect to see was the Windows 7 sw raid used less CPU.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2010, 09:41 AM
Brad P's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by catnhat View Post
That is an interesting looking controller for that price. Although without cache it sounds like there may be a bottle neck.

I think I will continue to look for a used perc 5i or 6i card for my performance RAID. However I have also continued my research on cheaper solutions for a less performance intensive solution to keep archived data.

I came across this and thought it was very interesting performance comparison between the popular onboard intel RAID vs. Windows 7 sw Raid. The part I didn't expect to see was the Windows 7 sw raid used less CPU.
There is an online chat support on their website that I've used to ask questions and get quick responses. I'm going to use it to store media for my HTPC so speed isn't critical. A person on support is using one for a NAS and said gets good speeds on it...I can't recall now what they were...wouldn't hurt to ask. Say Brad sent you
__________________
Desktop / HTPC: Cooler Master Storm Sniper Black Edition case, Asus P5Q Pro, Intel C2Q q8300, Asus 4550HD and 3450HD cards, Cooler Master M 1000w PS
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2010, 09:46 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 34
Default

Dell Perc 5/i or 6/i off eBay. You won't find a better raid card for the price.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2010, 03:43 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: St Albert
Posts: 37
Default perc 5i

Well, I found a perc 5i. just got it. now I have to do some sort of terabyte shuffle.

I am planning to run 1 array (4x500gb seagates) for video editing which will be 1+0 (I think) or maybe just Raid0 with a nightly backup to the 2nd RAID

2nd RAID array (4x1TB seagates) RAID5 or 1+0 for movie, photo, music and other data libraries.

Not sure yet. Any suggestions?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2010, 03:38 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

I just ordered myself a Perc 6i too Gonna go in the backup/file server, so I'll probably be doing 4x 1Tb Seagate 7200.12s in Raid 10 as well. Therefore, I'm also interested in everyone's thoughts on this, haha.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2010, 05:32 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
I just ordered myself a Perc 6i too Gonna go in the backup/file server, so I'll probably be doing 4x 1Tb Seagate 7200.12s in Raid 10 as well. Therefore, I'm also interested in everyone's thoughts on this, haha.
Awesome card it's basically a 5i except it can do raid 6. Also don't forget the breakout cables as if it's anything like the 5i i had it has 2 SFF8484 connectors.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 03:02 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default

Thread Necro I know but I purchased a Perc 6/i recently and once installed my system would not POST at all. After a lot of searching, I found that the card didn't play well with some chipsets, but there is a workaround using some electrical tape. Now everything works like a charm. Great card for the price!

Quote:
These cards are known to have some compatibility issues with Intel chipsets. However, they are known to work with NVIDIA motherboards fine. The issue stems from a System Management Bus (SMBus) conflicting with the motherboard's memory detection. SMBus is simple signal to provide the motherboad some basic device information and control. Symptoms of the conflict includes improperly reported RAM sizes and POST errors.

The trick is just to physically disable the SMBus signal. It is composed of just two pins B5 (SMCLK, SMBus clock) and B6 (SMDAT, SMBus data). These two pins need to be covered by tape or nail polish. On the top side of the card, they are the 5th and 6th PCIe pins from the left. You can see the pins covered as seen below:
PERC 5/i RAID Card: Tips and Benchmarks
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
raid , raid controller , raid5

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Damaged part on Raid Controller lcdguy Storage 3 September 19, 2009 06:28 PM
RAID Controller suggestions Digikid Storage 9 July 4, 2009 05:05 PM
raid controller question.... rob123 Storage 2 November 13, 2007 01:14 AM
A Good Raid Controller Corpus Masochist Storage 2 August 18, 2007 08:06 PM