Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2010, 05:33 PM
CoolHandL's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VANcouver
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default 3 SSD 64GB's In Raid0(edit 3 drives In Raid0 results + Pictures)

Just Picked up 2 Kingston Value 64GB SSD's to put into raid 0 on my main rig, how could i not buy them they were $109.99 each at NCIX, thats $1.70/gb, plus i already have one at home and know how the real world results are... amazing when compared to mechanical drives.. im super stoked to set these up..

that means my Corsair R60, gets moved from my main rig to my Mini-ITX HTPC, my exsisting Kingston V 64GB SSD, moves from my mini-itx HTPC into Girlfriends laptop. and two newbies get raided.

my main rig will be a thing of zen now, 2 WD Caviar Blacks 640GB (64MBcache) are in Raid 0 as storage, and my 2 SSDnow 64GB will be the OS in Raid 0.. two sets of dual channel kingston ram. 2-2-2

Am i worried about a failing disk... no i have lots of backups running, 1 750GB external and a secondary PC with a 640GB.thats covers my storage and reinstalling the OS is a breeze, i have a thumb drive with all needed drivers as an install pack... Im just excited and wanted to share with the WWW





Last edited by CoolHandL; July 20, 2010 at 11:41 AM. Reason: updating/edited/photos added
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2010, 06:33 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,227

My System Specs

Default

So that laptop will have JUST a 64 GB SSD for storage, or does it have two HDD bays? I can easily go over 64 GB if I put games or video onto my laptop.
I got the Kingston 128GB myself, and although I wanted a little more out of it for reducing boot time, it easily cuts down on how long it takes to start programs. It also saves me from having to remember to defrag :)
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2010, 09:03 PM
CoolHandL's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VANcouver
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

yeah the laptop is just one of 5 of my computers, so its not for storage at all, its for web, and word processing/ a business computer. i have tons of storage on my other pc's well about 4TB spread out.
but to answer your question it has one HDD bay, so the 64GB is for OS and applications. Plus i used a 64GB for games as well on my desktop when not playing i would uninstall, or store on my storage drives. but agreed speed ups loading apps and boot times for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2010, 09:27 AM
CoolHandL's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VANcouver
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

I went with 3 drives in Raid 0, I'm using the on board Raid controller for my 3 new Kingston 64GB SSD's.
Raid 0

Is there any way to increase performance?








-----------------------------------------------------------------------
CrystalDiskMark 3.0 x64 (C) 2007-2010 hiyohiyo
Crystal Dew World : http://crystalmark.info/
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
* MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

Sequential Read : 459.633 MB/s
Sequential Write : 100.525 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 242.314 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 143.138 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 12.158 MB/s [ 2968.4 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 15.485 MB/s [ 3780.6 IOPS]
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 36.934 MB/s [ 9017.2 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 24.499 MB/s [ 5981.2 IOPS]

Test : 1000 MB [C: 13.3% (23.7/178.8 GB)] (x5)
Date : 2010/07/18 11:13:52
OS : Windows 7 Ultimate Edition [6.1 Build 7600] (x64)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2010, 02:36 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 52
Thumbs up

SSD RAID!!!??? System, game loading speed probably insane!
I still thinking if it worth to get SSD for system if I reboot my PC once per month....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2010, 03:22 PM
CoolHandL's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VANcouver
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

i reboot daily. or power main rig down when not DLing, my other pc is on 24/7 folding. app loading and installation is lightning fast, the boot time suffers from the raid post screen but is still fast, shut down is instant.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2010, 12:10 AM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

Does the Raid 0 setup offer better write speeds? What about the random access? Does access time increase?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] 64gb SSD freeloader1969 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 July 24, 2010 08:31 PM
Crucial 64gb M225 SSD Squeetard Storage 3 August 29, 2009 06:54 PM
GSkill Falcon 64Gb SSD rjbarker Storage 5 July 9, 2009 06:47 PM
[WTB] 32-64gb ssd werth Buy/Sell & Trade 2 May 28, 2009 01:16 PM