Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2010, 01:46 PM
bvsbutthd101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 389

My System Specs

Smile Good News

I got the new motherboard, cpu, and ram today

and when I hooked it up to the hard drive with all the
programs and games on it, I had no problem with it
they all stayed on, didn't have reinstall anything
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2010, 02:34 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

This is no surprise as it should for the most part
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2010, 03:12 PM
bvsbutthd101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 389

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
This is no surprise as it should for the most part
Yeah, everybody I asked on here said it wouldn't work and
you should just install a fresh copy of windows
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2010, 03:49 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

Well you should as you could have conflicting driver issues, there is no guarantees one way or another
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2010, 03:52 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Usually it works....to an extent. I always do a format with new hardware changes. Perhaps this would be a good time to invest in a backup scheme?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2010, 04:01 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bvsbutthd101 View Post
Yeah, everybody I asked on here said it wouldn't work and
you should just install a fresh copy of windows
yup it works most of the time with 7 just did it myself today. I never tried xp.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2010, 04:03 PM
bvsbutthd101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 389

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
yup it works most of the time with 7 just did it myself today. I never tried xp.
All the drivers installed perfectly, everything is running smooth, all my programs work as do my games
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It's not all bad news: Exercise is good for kids! aristhrottle Off Topic 3 January 15, 2010 10:25 AM
Good news for PC gamers! Polygon Gaming 15 November 1, 2009 08:38 AM
Good news from CM Inik Cases 9 May 17, 2009 06:03 PM
Good News and Bad News. need some advice. arekieh Troubleshooting 7 November 23, 2008 09:24 AM
AMD: Want the good news or the bad news first? Cheator CPU's and Motherboards 7 July 20, 2008 08:03 PM