Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2010, 09:33 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default Internal HDD show in safely remove hardware...

Why are my internal hard drives showing up under the "Safely remove hardware and eject media" icon ?
I haven't tried to remove them, either way its not my plan, but I'd like to make it so that only other medias show up there instead of my internal HDD.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2010, 12:03 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

Your motherboard supports hot-swat drives so you can eject them and remove them while the system is running. I don't recommend trying it on your "c" drive however.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2010, 12:27 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

I guess, but for the first year I've had it, it didn't show up there. It just happened recently, when I got my SSD and now, its the 2nd time the 2nd HDD (the one on which the o/s is not installed) is disconnected after being put to sleep (I am not sure if it was the case both times).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2010, 12:40 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

i am pretty sure it has to do with the driver your using.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2010, 01:38 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

I can confirm the note about drivers - with the default Microsoft drivers on my setup (Win7 x64 + AMD SB750), I did not see the internal drives in the safely remove dialog. Installing the AMD AHCI drivers makes any drive that is running off my southbridge's SATA ports and in AHCI mode appear in the safely remove hardware box.

Unfortunately I don't see an easy fix for system drives showing up there, aside from changing drivers or switching your motherboard to IDE mode on those ports. Anyway, I just tried to "safely remove" my boot drive and my pagefile drive and Windows (rightfully) did not let me do so. This may be different if you have a data drive that Windows doesn't think there is anything important on, but otherwise it is harmless.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2010, 07:36 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

So if I understand right I should download the latest ACHI drivers for my mobo which are found here but I am not sure if I should get the AMD ones or the Gigabyte ones.

As for installation, I just copy this to a bootable media (USB key or CD) and press F6 during boot ?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2010, 11:10 AM
NaX's Avatar
NaX NaX is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: earth
Posts: 41
Default

agreed, check your drivers
also, what mobo are you using and which sata ports are you connecting the drives to?

(you referenced an AMD system, but for instance on an intel mobo that I have there are intel based sata ports and gigabyte [jmicon] ports)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD 5870 Size ? = Remove HDD Bays JORD4N Video Cards 2 October 3, 2009 05:54 PM
Help with internal HDD w/ encolsure Dubravac Storage 8 March 17, 2009 06:12 PM
2nd HDD wont show up in "My computer" Lima Storage 3 October 11, 2008 07:38 PM
How to purchase item safely from eBay.ca ? tao5269 Off Topic 14 July 16, 2008 12:37 PM
Overclock safely ! Shadowed Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 April 15, 2007 08:50 PM