Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 07:09 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario/Transplant from California
Posts: 101
Default System (C) drive filling up but from what??

After getting my new system up and running for about three months I've noticed the drive is filling up but with what? This computer is used very rarely because the old system it was built to replace is still working well. After the Windows install and all of my programs I had about 21gb of used space on my 80gb Intel SSD. Now it says 25.5gb used?? I've checked the usual places like internet cache and also checked Bit Defender which has been known to act up and collect junk but can't find where all this stuff is going. I could understand a few hundred mb coming and going but 4.5gb is a significant amount of space when you have an 80gb. SSD that you're trying to keep the junk off of. I'm also using Adobe Lightroom 2 where I import 1.5 to 2 gb of pictures to edit but these pics are imported to another hard disk. Is there any way to track or find newly written files to see where they're going or coming from? I'm not at the stage where I have to be concerned yet. 25.5 gb used and 74.5 gb of free space. Does anybody have any ideas I can try?
Thanks
Jim
__________________
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro - Intel i7 860 - Zalman CNPS 10X Quiet - 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1333 CL7-7-7-21 1.5V - Intel 520 Series 240 GB SSD - WD Caviar Black 1Tb - Corsair TX750W - Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1 Gb GDDR5 - DVD Drives X2 LG GH24LS50 - Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced - Win 7 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 07:15 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,603

My System Specs

Default

Have you disabled Windows back up? That is where you are losing several GBs to as its making back up images practically daily and if you never clean them out they add up.

Also, have you done a disk clean up to clear out all of the setup/install files it caches when windows install itself, same with clearing out 'temp' folders certain applications will make such as nvidia or ati.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 07:43 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Did you check your swap file? I see you're running 4G of memory.... I'd be willing to bet that windows is using a 4G+ swap file on that drive. I had a similar issue with my 8G system.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 08:42 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario/Transplant from California
Posts: 101
Default

Thanks for the replies. I thought windows back up was something I had to do manually? Anyway when I do a manual windows back up I get an error. Seems a lot of people are struggling with this feature.
w7x64rc backup fails with error code 0x81000019
At the moment I don't have a back up plan. I'm going to do a Acronis image when I figure out how.

Is it safe to do a disk clean up with a SSD? And how do I check the swap file? I understand SSD's are different than regular drives but I thought I would need the swap file active?

Thanks again for the help.
Jim
__________________
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro - Intel i7 860 - Zalman CNPS 10X Quiet - 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1333 CL7-7-7-21 1.5V - Intel 520 Series 240 GB SSD - WD Caviar Black 1Tb - Corsair TX750W - Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1 Gb GDDR5 - DVD Drives X2 LG GH24LS50 - Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced - Win 7 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 08:44 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,951

My System Specs

Default

There's also the hibernation file that should be disabled unless you absolutely need to hibernate your machine.

Also try out CCleaner. Should cleanup all the temp files floating around.

And as others have said, you can move the page file off of the SSD to a hard drive, or set it to a fixed size so you won't see your free space varying.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 08:49 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,367
Default

Windows 7 - Ultimate SSD Speed Tweaks

Should be std for everyone using SSDs.

Instead of disabling the pg file....I prefer to move it (unless I have like 12GB of ram in the sys).

Performance Boost: Move Page File to Another Physical Drive | Windows Vista Maintenance | Windows Tools, Help & Guides

To check where all your space is going...try
WinDirStat - Windows Directory Statistics
Will show you where and what is sucking up all your space :)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 09:21 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

It probably wouldn't be "Windows Backup" but instead would be your restore point(s) taking up space. You can set Windows up for a max drive space as far as restore points go, or do away with it all together (I'd recommend having at least one restore point).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 11:23 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

simple to find out, use "spacemonger" its a freeish utility that will give you a visual representation of whats on your hard drive. the two majors of course are the page and hibernate files. even if you turn off the hibernate file (which is the same size as the total amount of ram you have) it stays there, so you actually have to manually remove it, like this...

Open up "cmd" in admin mode,
Type this command.
powercfg -h off
and reboot.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 02:00 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

when in doubt, treesize is your best frend. i cleaned once some 100 or more gigs of reports from av l;ol
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 03:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 23

My System Specs

Default

What about the Windows temp folder? I get gigs of crap there.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loop Not Filling? AmuseMe Water Cooling 72 November 16, 2009 10:06 AM
How to change the letter drive of the system disk? francois methot O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 November 1, 2009 02:21 PM
Free Space In Case Needs Filling ChuckleBrother Cases 9 May 14, 2008 05:37 PM
filling, bleeding and testing new loop magictorch Water Cooling 25 April 10, 2008 03:35 PM
DVD drive causing system reset SugarJ Troubleshooting 8 January 25, 2008 05:31 PM