Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 04:14 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,054

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
when in doubt, treesize is your best frend. i cleaned once some 100 or more gigs of reports from av l;ol

Tree Size Pro is a great program and most definitely helps you find where all your space is going. I very highly recommend it. You can download it and use it for free for 30 days, long enough to help you out.

JAM Software - TreeSize Professional – The Powerful and Flexible Hard Disk Space Manager
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 04:43 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

and then you get yourself dustbuster 2.9.1(unless 3.0.something came out but i doubt it) and you get rid of lots and lots of stuff.

and then you use mydefrag(weekly or monthly if you havent done it in a long time with the screen saver set to daily) and you should be fine..maybe drop cccleaner as well if you wish
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 04:48 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
and then you get yourself dustbuster 2.9.1(unless 3.0.something came out but i doubt it) and you get rid of lots and lots of stuff.

and then you use mydefrag(weekly or monthly if you havent done it in a long time with the screen saver set to daily) and you should be fine..maybe drop cccleaner as well if you wish
Not in this case as he's worried about the space on his 80G SSD.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 04:54 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

spacemonger is your best bet... there are others but SM is my fav.

I serviced a PC last year that used a symantec product for it's antivirus. The version of AV was not compatible with the OS and caused severe bloat in the AV programs TEMP folder... filling up the C drive.

</0.02>
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 05:57 PM
N.V.M.'s Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: North Vancouver
Posts: 302
Default

you can always do what i did with the smallish 80 gig SSD's.

Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 06:34 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

whoops, then use the manufacturers included utility :)
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 08:30 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario/Transplant from California
Posts: 101
Default

Thank you all for the suggestions.

Akg I read through the Ultimate SSD tweeks and found too many people not agreeing with some of the tweeks so I've settled on just turning off defrag, disabled superfetch, and resized the recycle bin but that's all. I'll read through them again and reconsider.

Some questions if I may.
How would I find and check the swap file to see how big it is, and how would I turn it off? Once it's off what are the consequences?

Same thing with the hibernation file? I never use hibernate.

I'm reluctant to use programs such as Spacemonger, CCCleaner and Tree Size but if you guys think it's safe then I'll try Spacemonger.

Thanks again
Jim
__________________
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro - Intel i7 860 - Zalman CNPS 10X Quiet - 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1333 CL7-7-7-21 1.5V - Intel 520 Series 240 GB SSD - WD Caviar Black 1Tb - Corsair TX750W - Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1 Gb GDDR5 - DVD Drives X2 LG GH24LS50 - Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced - Win 7 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 09:20 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GMJim View Post
Thank you all for the suggestions.

Akg I read through the Ultimate SSD tweeks and found too many people not agreeing with some of the tweeks so I've settled on just turning off defrag, disabled superfetch, and resized the recycle bin but that's all. I'll read through them again and reconsider.

Some questions if I may.
How would I find and check the swap file to see how big it is, and how would I turn it off? Once it's off what are the consequences?

Same thing with the hibernation file? I never use hibernate.

I'm reluctant to use programs such as Spacemonger, CCCleaner and Tree Size but if you guys think it's safe then I'll try Spacemonger.

Thanks again
Jim
The swap file has a purpose, so you could muck about with it, but if your a bit concerned just leave it be. Its usually a couple gigs large, and can be trimmed, but turning it right off will give you the odd "out of memory" error, depending on how you use your computer.

the hibernate file is absolutely useless. your computer does not even remotely need it to run. You can turn this off in the power options of your control panel. Like i mentioned before though, turning it off WILL NOT remove the file from your hard drive. You need to run that command i mentioned to remove it.

Open up "cmd" in admin mode,
Type this command.
powercfg -h off
and reboot.

Space monger is absolutely safe as well. As a program, its only function is to visually show you whats on your hard drive using colored squares. you "can" delete files from within spacemonger, but that is no different than using windows explorer. you cant "accidentally" delete anything from withing the program.

All i suggest you use the program for is to locate the large files that are on your hard drive. for example, lets say you downloaded a couple of files that were a couple gigs each an forgot about em. you'll "see" them in spacemonger as a couple of very large squares, then you can choose to remove them or not. If you do, dont forget to empty your recycle bin.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 09:35 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario/Transplant from California
Posts: 101
Default

Thanks Tzetsin

I tried Spacemonger on my XP Pro system (500gb drive) first and it shows the temp file at 6 gb. I went into explorer and deleted all the stale temp files and rescanned. SM still shows 6.gb in the temp file? Also I can't seem to find Spacemonger for the computer in question (with the SSD) for Win 7 Pro/64 bit?
Thanks
Jim
__________________
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro - Intel i7 860 - Zalman CNPS 10X Quiet - 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1333 CL7-7-7-21 1.5V - Intel 520 Series 240 GB SSD - WD Caviar Black 1Tb - Corsair TX750W - Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1 Gb GDDR5 - DVD Drives X2 LG GH24LS50 - Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced - Win 7 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 05:36 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

spacemonger should work in any OS. it works in my win 7 64 bit system fine. I'm not sure what to tell you about the temp file though. If it says you have 6 gigs in there i'd believe it. You could try looking at the property page for that file and see what size it says it is.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loop Not Filling? AmuseMe Water Cooling 72 November 16, 2009 09:06 AM
How to change the letter drive of the system disk? francois methot O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 November 1, 2009 01:21 PM
Free Space In Case Needs Filling ChuckleBrother Cases 9 May 14, 2008 04:37 PM
filling, bleeding and testing new loop magictorch Water Cooling 25 April 10, 2008 02:35 PM
DVD drive causing system reset SugarJ Troubleshooting 8 January 25, 2008 04:31 PM