Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2010, 01:23 PM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,231

My System Specs

Smile New SSD

It certainly helps to have people who really know what they're doing there to smooth out those rough spots. Guys like me can learn lots just reading this stuff. Though in my case I'll still need someone to hold my hand, so to speak. You're ok guys, VR isn't good enough to reach out and touch someone yet! At least not that I know of.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2010, 02:00 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,309

My System Specs

Default

I read somewhere tha tit isn't a good thing to do a do a re-image something to do with SSD alignment or something like that it can create proplbme with windows7
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2010, 03:28 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

you can just run "PAT" now it was given out last week on here. it's free till june 30 Paragon Alignment Tool - Overview
Boost Drive Performance & Lifespan With Paragon Alignment Tool (Free Offer)
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2010, 03:47 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,419

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
you can just run "PAT" now it was given out last week on here. it's free till june 30 Paragon Alignment Tool - Overview
Boost Drive Performance & Lifespan With Paragon Alignment Tool (Free Offer)
Heh.... I haven't gotten around to deciding if I want to risk borking my drive a second time to verify, but it was running this under XP that borked my SSD in the first place.... win7 worked fine, XP seemed to work fine for my IDE drive, but when it tried to do the SSD it not only made the partition unreadable, but borked it to a point where the XP install disk would hang as soon as it tried to access the drive.... doing a full hdderase resolved the issue.

Now, this may have been a one-of.... it may have been something to do with the fact that I'd installed xp then win7 then went back to XP on the SSD, but I normally remove all partition information before installing a fresh OS.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2010, 04:45 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

been using it all week have used about 50 times now and the only time it didn't work was on my raid setup all else was fine. all it does is move all the data and put a 2mb chunk in front of everything i can see how it could really screw up xp. can't speak for xp it's been dead in my house for many years now so i can't.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting my first SSD, some quick questions =) Fenrise Storage 35 April 19, 2010 05:32 AM
Just got an Intel 40GB SSD. Some questions to ask. lsquare Storage 5 April 14, 2010 12:38 AM
some SSD questions Graysccale Storage 8 February 20, 2010 06:05 AM
OCZ Vertex SSD questions Wurmer Storage 28 January 10, 2010 01:06 PM
SSD usage questions matsta31 Storage 19 April 16, 2009 05:13 PM