Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2010, 03:35 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,455

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
SOMETHING aint right as those write speeds suck. Time to nuke the install and try again. With a sani erase in between. Download HDD Erase. run it from a usb stick with a dos loader. then reinstall.
ok lol
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2010, 05:45 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,455

My System Specs

Default

ok just finished the first thing I am doing is running Crystal disk mark then posting it here [IMG][/IMG]

it still sits at the windows startup screen
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2010, 07:16 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

chipset maybe just a guess? it is a older 680i. those writes are looking better.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2010, 07:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 161

My System Specs

Default

Those last reads/writes are exactly what I had in the couple weeks I had the same Kingston 64GB V Series SSD. Just make sure to optimize the drive the best you can such as disabling system restore, page file, hibernation and disk defragmentation. There are also a lot of little tweaks you can do to make the drive a bit speedier, but those benches are pretty much what's expected from this drive.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2010, 07:46 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,455

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
chipset maybe just a guess? it is a older 680i. those writes are looking better.
ok this is my system
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 5/24/2010, 18:44:41
Machine name: SHADDOWFIRE
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate N 64-bit
System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
System Model: GA-MA790X-UD4P
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor (4 CPUs), ~3.2GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 8190MB RAM
Page File: 1726MB used, 14650MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7600.16385 64bit Unicode
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2010, 07:50 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,392
Default

Small file numbers look much better. The high end is still low...but AMD + SSD does result in some performance hit. But not that much. I'd yank the drive and try in another system to see how it performs. That might be the best you are going to get.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2010, 12:15 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mj,Sk
Posts: 83

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
SOMETHING aint right as those write speeds suck. Time to nuke the install and try again. With a sani erase in between. Download HDD Erase. run it from a usb stick with a dos loader. then reinstall.
He disabled write cache, seems to be the first thing people do but it kills performance on this particular SSD because it does have cache.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2010, 07:01 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

i always enable mine and it improves performance when cache is there.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2010, 09:59 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,684

My System Specs

Default

I think Windows is smart enough if it wants to use the SSD as cache, especially when they system has 8 GB of RAM...I wouldn't bother disabling cache.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2010, 10:23 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,392
Default

write caching vs no write caching is a minor improvement one way or the other (helps some.....hinders other SSDs)....it wont tank your write speed to sub 25mb/s though.

Looks like the drive was getting into a degraded state. THAT would tank speeds that much. Now it could just be the AMD hit all SSDs suffer (AMDs controller is much worse / inefficient then even ICH 9 for SSDs).
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touching Up SSD before OS Install FreeKnight Storage 18 March 2, 2010 07:58 AM
Slow boot times on caviar black? Goalieman077 Storage 5 December 27, 2009 09:19 AM
i7 920 + Evga Sli Le... Slow Boot :/ JORD4N CPU's and Motherboards 21 December 10, 2009 09:51 AM
W7 / Intel SSD - Slow Web Surfing - Posting rjbarker O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 October 27, 2009 04:02 PM
WoW install prob cmac79 Gaming 5 June 25, 2009 12:56 AM