Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2010, 10:08 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default Kingston 64GB SSDnow v series questions

I broke down and bought the Kingston 64GB SSDnow v series I am new to ssd drives so I am not sure what to expect right now since I don't have the mounting utilities I am going to try and figure out how to mount this then install my OS on in, but I do have a question about this and all ssd drives.
is there some type of setup I need to do? I have been reading other posts about speeds and people tweaking so I am wondering will I need to do any of this to get the most out of this drive?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2010, 12:30 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,153
Default

One of the issues with Kingston is that their website has no info on SSD, or very not a lot...

if you visit OCZ's forums and look for SSD optimization you're golden
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / EVGA GTX780 ACX / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2010, 12:40 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,141

My System Specs

Default

Disconnect your other drives, connect your SSD, install Windows 7, reconnect other drives. Use AHCI mode.

Tweak as suggested here: Windows 7 - Ultimate SSD Speed Tweaks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2010, 12:49 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,396
Default

Yup. SugarJ got it right. Though the BIG one is AHCI mode. Without that windows cant pass the TRIM command on to the drive, thus it can potentially get slow (and at the very least use more cell life as it will have to rely on its self cleaning maintenance routines, colloquially refereed to as Idle Time Garbage Collection, to keep the drive from entering a degraded mode).
You have to disconect the other drives from your system as win 7 ALWAYS makes a 100mb partition on Drive 0....even if that is not the drive you are installing windows to! IF that drive dies or is removed....your OS is toast. ;)

The tweaks....are just that. They really arent needed (besides making sure defrag is off) but they do allow you to wring every bit of performance out of the drive.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2010, 02:25 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default

How to I Turn on AHCI mode ?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2010, 02:32 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,396
Default

Go into your bios. Change it from IDE to AHCI, before you install your OS. ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2010, 04:15 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default

ok did all that but now when ever I boot up it goes to a screen that says something about AHCI then it lists my DVD and the SSD drive is there a way to turn off that screen becasue that in itself is a delay when booting hehe
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Benchmark of Kingston SSDNow V-Series ipaine Storage 4 April 18, 2010 02:03 PM
[FS] Kingston SSDNow V+ Series 64GB !!!BRAND NEW!!! cranker Buy/Sell & Trade 13 February 27, 2010 01:35 AM
Kingston Releases New Performance SSDNow V+ Series Drives FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 5 August 13, 2009 04:48 PM