Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 3, 2010, 04:22 PM
Rookie

Default NAS question

Can any external USB hard drive be made into a NAS one? I've seen the USB to cat5 converters on eBay for around $40. Are they the only way to go?
Old May 3, 2010, 04:39 PM
Rookie

ya thare ok, but you can't have the full speed of your network for transfer of files.
Old May 3, 2010, 05:21 PM
Allstar
F@H

Buy an old computer for $40, a NIC for $10 with 100mbps at least, download and install FreeNAS and you won't regret I promise, it's what I did, works really well and so much room for upgrade!!!
Old May 4, 2010, 05:00 AM
Rookie

I googled NIC and it said network interface card. (I'm not a techie at all). Anyway, if this old computer already has an Ethernet port (cat5) do I still need that? the upgradeability you mentioned, does that mean adding more harddrives to the computer?

Why don't I have full speed access to the files over my network?
Old May 4, 2010, 05:11 AM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

The ethernet card is the NIC, so you definitely need that. In terms of the USB to ethernet adapter, you're going to be bottle necked by the USB 2.0 transfer speed so you're not getting the full speed of the drives.

If you're looking for a long term solution, get a cheap computer and turn it into a network storage machine with freeNAS. When you run out of space, you can always throw more hard drives in the machine without worrying about transferring your data or what to do with the old hard drive.
Old May 4, 2010, 06:32 AM
Rookie

I see what you mean about those adapters, they wouldn't be any quicker than a usb 2.0 connection anyway. I think I get it.

I have an XP machine in the basement that I currently use only for doing kitchen designs on the Ikea software. I'll download freeNAS later and turn that into my video vault!