Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2010, 08:39 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,153
Default Best/easiest free imaging software?

Howdy all,

Got to image my SSD (OS drive). I heard of Acronis, is there anything else worth mentioning that would do a good job at imaging my VERTEX 120GB? Everything is fine, and I NEVER completely lost an OS partition/drive before (lucky me), but I just want ot stay on the safe side.

Any suggestions/how-to's?
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / EVGA GTX780 ACX / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2010, 10:31 PM
kingnubian's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 305
Default

I actually use & swear by Clonezilla which is free open sourced software (Linux Based but beginner mode is real easy to use),

Other good choice is

Paragon Backup & Recovery Free
Free Backup Software: Paragon Backup & Recovery Free Edition - Overview
__________________
GOD Is Good
________________________________________

Intel i7-2600K @ 4.8Ghz
Asus Sabertooth Z77
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z (1866MhZ CAS9)
NZXT Kraken X60 CPU Cooler
2x Sandisk Extreme 240GB SSD (RAID 0)
Seagate 7200.12 500gig HD
Galaxy GTX660Ti 3GB
LG DVDR
NZXT Phantom 630 Case
Antec TruPower New 750W Power Supply
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2010, 10:34 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,141

My System Specs

Default Haven't tryed it

AceBackup: The free Backup Software posted some ware else in forums
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2010, 10:46 PM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 599

My System Specs

Default

For me Windows 7 own image option works like a charm. Tested a couple of times now.
__________________
If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2010, 06:10 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

Are you creating a backup of a current SSD, or are you backing up a HDD, so that you can transfer your setup to a new SSD? I would check or ask the experts about how you should do this if you are going from a HDD to a new SSD, as I heard there may be issues getting Trim working properly in such a setup, and require additional steps (as opposed to a fresh Win7 install on a SSD).
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2010, 06:28 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

I would test clonezilla i have tested acronis and it only keeps the offset sometimes. gonna check clonezilla today myself. i have never tried windows backups to see if it keeps things proper.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2010, 02:48 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,153
Default

Quote:
Are you creating a backup of a current SSD, or are you backing up a HDD, so that you can transfer your setup to a new SSD?
Yes, that's what I want to do...a safeguard in case my OS craps out.
As for the "offset" I don't get it, I'm puzzled
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / EVGA GTX780 ACX / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)

Last edited by Delavan; April 20, 2010 at 03:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2010, 02:55 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,367
Default

IF your partitions are not properly aligned, you will suffer a performance penalty. Depending on which SSD (and more importantly which CONTROLLER resides in the SSD) this penalty can vary from low single digit hit to low double digit performance hit (worst I heard was Indlinx w/ 10 - 15% hit).

Windows 7 should properly align the SSD during installation...but IF your imaging program isnt alignment aware it may mess it up during a restore from backup image. This was a much bigger deal before TRIM as it meant the SSD had to (potentialy) use more cells for a given write and thus get degraded faster. Now its just means the controller and cells have to work a wee bit more harder....but the performance hit is real and should be avoided if possible.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2010, 03:09 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,153
Default

Alright, so we're talking about my Indilinx Barefoot VERTEX, 1.5FW in Win7 64.

Which imaging software would be "alignment aware" to avoid any perf. drop?
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / EVGA GTX780 ACX / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2010, 04:32 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

that's a good question acronis true disk 10 is supposed to make sure it keeps the off-set but it seems hit or miss lately fro me and never got a chance to test clonzilla today sorry.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best FREE video recording software? icepizza O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 December 14, 2009 08:02 PM
Ghost/HD imaging software no_pulse O/S's, Drivers & General Software 27 December 3, 2009 07:32 PM
Best of the Best 2009.Recommended Software.Most is Free badatcards Off Topic 5 July 22, 2009 08:52 PM
Free Gamebooster software (beta) sswilson Gaming 3 April 5, 2009 05:13 PM
Disk imaging software. Il Duce Troubleshooting 6 December 21, 2008 10:27 PM