Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2010, 04:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5

My System Specs

Question Cloning a Drive help

Hey guys, my space on my current hdd is running low. I was thinking of upgrading it to a Western Digital 640G Black. My current one is a 320G drive. Im not sure of the brand but i know for sure it isnt western digital.

My question to you guys is how would i be able to clone my current one and bring it over to a new one? That way i dont gotta re-install windows.

Thank you very much in advance :D
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2010, 04:59 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,503

My System Specs

Default

Use Western Digital's data lifeguard software. It is very easy.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2010, 05:36 PM
Patramix's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: between Montreal and Sherbrooke
Posts: 216

My System Specs

Default

Acronis true image is also perty good, just used it myself to close an ssd and a few other hdd's, but you need to full version to do it(the trial wont)
__________________
All of life is forged from Hell, Yet from its beauty our legacy began.

My Boinc Stats
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2010, 06:35 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

I second both statements....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2010, 07:08 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

WD and Seagate cloning software is based off of Acronis. Think of em as cut down versions of Acronis TI. IF all you need is to clone drive A to B....why spend money for features you wont need?

With that being said Acronis TI is money well spent. Will save your bacon IF you get a nasty virus, a drive dies, etc etc as you can setup incremental backups...and be backup and runnning PDQ after a "incident". ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2010, 07:54 PM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default

Yes, just google Acronis Western Digital Edition and there there should be a free version that will clone your drives. Because the main operating drive is the source drive, it will need to restart first so it can load with full control of the HDD.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2010, 08:08 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
Use Western Digital's data lifeguard software. It is very easy.

Thats the one I was thinking of. Thanks B1lk1.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
640gb , black , cloning , digital , western

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCZ Launches Next-Gen Z-Drive R2 PCI-Express Solid State Drive FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 April 6, 2010 10:07 AM
Disk Cloning and SSD MarkOne Storage 5 November 12, 2009 10:24 AM
Trouble cloning display Maplicito Troubleshooting 2 February 16, 2009 09:53 AM
Harddrive cloning question Eagle Eye Storage 6 November 7, 2008 12:29 PM
Disc cloning software? FreqE1 Storage 13 October 18, 2008 02:08 PM