Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2010, 03:06 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

read the thread all ready posted. i have several ssd's that meet that spec and it does not work all the time
Getting my first SSD, some quick questions =)
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2010, 04:18 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

Ok, maybe this is a silly question, but WTH, I'm gonna ask it anywise.....

Does Windows 7 recognise AHCI settings natively, and would using it under XP require that I use the dreaded F6 Drivers?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2010, 04:22 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

windows 7 see's it natively, with xp sp1/2 i have always had to use f6 drivers. not sure about xp sp3 never used it
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2010, 04:31 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

That's what I thought. Thanks for the info.

I'm working on the second full ssd install (both on my folding rigs) with XP, so I'll look at the "after the fact" install for AHCI, but I'm putting 7 ultimate on my main rig so will do AHCI on it even though it's just a standard HDD.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2010, 07:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mj,Sk
Posts: 83

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
read the thread all ready posted. i have several ssd's that meet that spec and it does not work all the time
Getting my first SSD, some quick questions =)

Sorry, i just skimmed the thread, didn't see that.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2010, 06:32 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 25
Default

Got it installed over the weekend and WOW the thing is blazing fast! Would defiantly recommend it to anyone =)!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
some SSD questions Graysccale Storage 8 February 20, 2010 07:05 AM
New to multi-GPU folding, quick setup questions... Caldezar HardwareCanucks F@H Team 33 February 7, 2010 12:06 PM
quick two questions hohohee Off Topic 2 December 29, 2009 10:35 PM
Quick questions. Patriote CPU's and Motherboards 10 November 21, 2008 07:43 AM
RivaTuner,couple of quick questions.....Hardware Monitoring Canadianguy Video Cards 2 December 8, 2007 08:00 PM