Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2010, 07:39 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default 512GB kingston datatraveller?

Okay so someone i know decided to buy a bunch of cheap 64gb sd cards from a less than reputable source, they didnt get sd cards but instead got these kingston data travellers which are labelled as 512gb, and clearly chinese since 90% of the packaging is in chinese.

Both of us assumed these were simply misprints and were meant to say 512 MB, but sure enough you plug that drive in and its labelled as 499gb within windows. Formatting to ntfs fails, formatting to exfat simply because it was the only other option in win7 WORKS. Meanwhile for some reason it will randomly get errors when copying, the error says "An unexpected error is keeping you from copying the file. If you continue to receive this error, you can use the error code to search for help with this problem. Error 0x80070570: The file or directory is corrupted and unreadable."

Something is clearly not right about this drive lol, but im wondering if anyone else has encountered anything like it?


Edit: Okay so i had about 2.6gb copied to the drive then it started crapping out. Running a scan on the device just locks up. Performing a quick format of exfat works, but normal format just goes nowhere, write speeds are around 7MB/s
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com

Last edited by Jonwall; April 4, 2010 at 07:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2010, 07:54 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 682

My System Specs

Default

Did you mean 64MB sd cards? There are 64gig sd cards but they are by no means cheap.

I haven't seen anything like that, but lets just say I wouldn't trust my data on it. I say return it or junk it.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2010, 07:59 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Downtown Toronto
Posts: 161
Default

It's because they're fake. They're hacked to show 512GB, but in actuality, they have WAY WAY WAY less memory, and if you care about your files, you should not put it on any of these drives.
__________________
New on HWC but lots of feedback on RFD (89-0-0)


XBMC Rig (1900PPD): AMD Athlon II X2 240 @ 3.2ghz | Gigabyte GA-MA78LM-S2H | G.Skill 2GB DDR2 800 | WD Caviar Blue 500GB | Antec NSK1300 SFF Case
Folding Rig: (1700+4500PPD) Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L | OCZ Special Ops 2GB DDR2 800 | EVGA 9800GT | G.Skill Falcon 64GB SSD | Samsung Spinpoint 1TB | Seagate Momentus 1TB | Generic ATX 430W Case
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2010, 08:00 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,282
Default

Yup. Its a fake. Kingston as this time doesn't sell a 512GB flash drive. IIRC the biggest you can get is 256GB.
Hell even the "499" is a dead give away. 512GB would NOT be seen as 499. Obviously it has been messed with to report incorrect capacity. I'd crack one open. (I BET its been just epoxyed back together after THEY took it apart). See what the NAND inside is. But the best thing you can do is chuck em. IF you paid by CC or Paypal, report it as fraud and try to get your money back. Lesson of the day is: ALWAYS buy from peeps you trust and NEVER from someone you think is shadey. IF you get a gut feeling something is wrong....go with your gut. ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2010, 08:09 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
Yup. Its a fake. Kingston as this time doesn't sell a 512GB flash drive. IIRC the biggest you can get is 256GB.
Hell even the "499" is a dead give away. 512GB would NOT be seen as 499. Obviously it has been messed with to report incorrect capacity. I'd crack one open. (I BET its been just epoxyed back together after THEY took it apart). See what the NAND inside is. But the best thing you can do is chuck em. IF you paid by CC or Paypal, report it as fraud and try to get your money back. Lesson of the day is: ALWAYS buy from peeps you trust and NEVER from someone you think is shadey. IF you get a gut feeling something is wrong....go with your gut. ;)
Heh yeah thats the EXACT same idea i had when he told me they were 512gb. Ive also noticed a typo on the packaging just now, not to mention the packaging is missing a bunch of things the normal kingston products have. I think ill crack this one open just to see whats really in there.

And he said hes learned his lesson already about buying from shady sources lol.

Edit: Okay they used a TINY amount of epoxy to hold it together, crap came apart like nothing lol. Main chip inside says StarRam FTM40AW-1.9A 1108. Has a white marking on the chip as well which looks almost like an n and like it was added afterwards in chalk like substance lol.
Other chip on there is tiny and i cant even really make out what it says at this point
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com

Last edited by Jonwall; April 4, 2010 at 08:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2010, 08:26 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,022
Default

If your buddy bought it from a Canadian place I would contact RCMP or police.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2010, 08:33 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyhorsejohnny View Post
If your buddy bought it from a Canadian place I would contact RCMP or police.
Was an online retailer located in chine somewhere, might have been over ebay because he mentioned something about paying attention to seller ratings in the future
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2010, 08:50 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonwall View Post
Was an online retailer located in chine somewhere, might have been over ebay because he mentioned something about paying attention to seller ratings in the future
Play with fire and you get burned.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair Prepping 3.5" 512GB SSD FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 20 February 4, 2010 10:11 AM
Kingston Launches 512GB SSDNow V+ and Adds TRIM Support FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 5 January 26, 2010 04:57 AM
my kingston ssd had arrived :))))) go flames go Storage 0 May 4, 2009 06:15 PM
[FS] Two 4850's and some kingston ram..... ddude27 Buy/Sell & Trade 12 December 11, 2008 07:15 PM
Kingston HyperX chibi_man RAM 8 January 29, 2008 02:26 PM