Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2010, 11:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default Hard Drive Not Detected?

I recently bought the wd20ears [WD 2TB Green 64mb cache] and I attached all the cables and Windows 7 doesn't show it in My Computer. I checked the BIOS and it's detected there...
What should I do?
__________________
Intel E8400 (4 ghz) w/ CM 212+
HIS 6870 Turbo
2x2gb OCZ Vista Performance Platinum [5-4-4-15]
500gb SG + 2TB WD20EARS
Corsair TX650W
Asus P5Q
Lancool K-62BW
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2010, 11:46 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,103

My System Specs

Default

Click start button, click help and support, search for create partition. Follow the directions, and you should then be able to see the drive.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2010, 11:51 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,076

My System Specs

Default

You most likely have to go to disk management and format it and give it a drive letter.

Easiest way is to just type diskmgmt.msc into the search box in the start menu. That should open up disk management and you should see your drive in there.

From there just create the partition and give it a drive letter and it will show in my computer.


Here are some steps taken from here.

  1. Right-click an unallocated region on your hard disk, and then click New Simple Volume.
  2. In the New Simple Volume Wizard, click Next.
  3. Type the size of the volume you want to create in megabytes (MB) or accept the maximum default size, and then click Next.
  4. Accept the default drive letter or choose a different drive letter to identify the partition, and then click Next.
  5. In the Format Partition dialog box, do one of the following:
    • If you don't want to format the volume right now, click Do not format this volume, and then click Next.
    • To format the volume with the default settings, click Next.
  6. Review your choices, and then click Finish.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2010, 02:30 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default

Thank you so much. All is well :)
__________________
Intel E8400 (4 ghz) w/ CM 212+
HIS 6870 Turbo
2x2gb OCZ Vista Performance Platinum [5-4-4-15]
500gb SG + 2TB WD20EARS
Corsair TX650W
Asus P5Q
Lancool K-62BW
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I set my second hard drive as a "data drive"? lsquare Storage 11 March 19, 2010 09:11 PM
[WTB] Hard Drive flightsimnerd Buy/Sell & Trade 9 February 20, 2010 10:16 AM
IDE Drive not being detected bobaban Troubleshooting 11 June 13, 2009 10:40 PM
Hard Drive benchmarks Mr. Gruntsworthy Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 March 13, 2009 09:34 PM
Hard drive WolfBane Storage 8 July 24, 2008 12:08 PM