Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2010, 11:39 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,951

My System Specs

Default

Got the drive today. I will definitely say as for SSD casing, it is by far the worst I've had and I've had many SSD's. The bare aluminum is all blotchy. Thankfully it is the bottom so won't be seen in most cases.
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2010, 12:07 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Got the drive today. I will definitely say as for SSD casing, it is by far the worst I've had and I've had many SSD's. The bare aluminum is all blotchy. Thankfully it is the bottom so won't be seen in most cases.
At least its metal unlike the Adata S592....which uses PLASTIC! :)~
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2010, 12:40 PM
dragoonxx's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Medicine Hat
Posts: 414
Default

both of mine will be here today, I may have to commission a family member to pick it up from the post office though...darn working until 10, other than that though, I have to wait for my order from performance Pcs to get here so that I can wire them up nicely, although i MIGHT have enough molex-> sata adapters to do it quick and dirty
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2010, 01:15 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,826

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Anybody else find the Newegg Visa verification process takes forever? I know it was a long weekend, but my card is already officially "visa verified" so it sure as hell shouldn't have taken until today. Damn thing's not even packed yet, let alone shipped!!!!!
yes it has been taking a long time in the last 2 months minimum of 2 days to verify
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2010, 02:49 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,481

My System Specs

Default

And as I predicted..... 1 day to get from NJ to Concord ON, with updates every 3-4 hrs, and now it's sitting there for 24 hrs..... don't know if that's where the warehouse is, or if it's actually moving but not being updated on the servers.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2010, 12:36 AM
dragoonxx's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Medicine Hat
Posts: 414
Default

got mine in, eventually mounted *the silverstone adapter I'm using is just a little bit offsized for my tool less clips, so I had to use screws, and hope I torqued them down enough that they would clear the cage....still fighting with getting them aligned *just grabbed a win7 repair disc*
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2010, 01:09 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,481

My System Specs

Default

Grrrrrr..........

Ever had one of those delivery experiences that would ensure a first-time order would be the last ever????

Of course the package arrives in Moncton friday afternoon, so not in the system until this morning..... moncton doesn't have a UPS delivery person so they contract out to Puro.... check the tracking this morning expecting to see "on truck for delivery" and instead see "please contact UPS, postcard has been sent to receiver"......

Call UPS and they tell me that puro has it and it's being held for pickup (about 45 minutes round trip for me), I asked why nobody attempted to deliver it and they had puro call me.... turns out the shipping label was "damaged" and left off one of the #s of my street address. Fine.... but if they couldn't pull the address off of the label, HTH are they going to send me a postcard letting me know the issue????

So far.... I ordered it on the 1'st and best would be me picking it up on the 13'th.... I could have had something shipped from hong kong in that time.........
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2010, 01:18 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,826

My System Specs

Default

och that sucks ya other side of the planet and it would have been there the next day. coming from some where close gotta take adn extra week just to remind you have bad delivery's can be.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2010, 03:26 PM
CoolHandL's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VANcouver
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

where was i. i totaly missed it.
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2010, 12:52 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,481

My System Specs

Default

Holy cwap!!!!! does doing a fresh install / update of winXP on an SSD ever highlight how much physical HDDs bottleneck a standard system!!!!!!! :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just got an Intel 40GB SSD. Some questions to ask. lsquare Storage 5 April 14, 2010 12:38 AM
Intel Officially Launches the X25-V 40GB SSD FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 5 March 15, 2010 12:41 PM
Should I get the Intel X25-V 40GB SSD? lsquare Storage 1 February 1, 2010 05:19 AM
New Intel X25-m 80 gb SSD??? GMJim Storage 2 January 31, 2010 04:26 PM
[FS] 2 x 80GB Intel X25-M SSD's. lowfat Buy/Sell & Trade 4 July 23, 2009 08:17 AM