Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2010, 05:46 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Milton, ON
Posts: 83
Default Random SSD Crash

Hey Everyone,

So I have a 60gig OCZ SSD and it seems to randomly crash whn I play games but its only in Bad Company 2. Ugh, I forget the error, could have been dumping memory (it said dumping something). I'll have to recreate the error and give the exact one. But anything I could check out or run?

Thanks for the help

StaRk
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2010, 07:23 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,339
Default

Are you sure it is the drive and not BFBC2? Try installing the game on to a hard drive. See if the error happens. If it does its not the SSD. ;)
If the SSD is failing they usually translate into problems with other things. Like random lockups, BSOD's etc.
You can try running FreeSpaceCleaner w/FF option. This will write 1's to all the free space on the drive. IF there is a problem with the NAND....it will cause an error. It will use 1 of the 10,000 writes you get for MLC....but that really is nothing. :)

http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/fo...8&d=1257418520
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2010, 07:37 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Milton, ON
Posts: 83
Default

Thanks, I will look into it and try it again.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2010, 09:27 AM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The prairies
Posts: 47

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stark.tD View Post
only in Bad Company 2
Probably not your SSD as I have the same problem. BC2 and ONLY BC2 will cause my computer to bluescreen and hardlock at random, sometimes after 10 min and sometimes after 90 min. Weeks of testing overclocking, underclocking, voltages, drivers, fan speeds, graphics settings and sound settings, have produced no solutions to this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2010, 10:19 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Milton, ON
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amdhehe View Post
Probably not your SSD as I have the same problem. BC2 and ONLY BC2 will cause my computer to bluescreen and hardlock at random, sometimes after 10 min and sometimes after 90 min. Weeks of testing overclocking, underclocking, voltages, drivers, fan speeds, graphics settings and sound settings, have produced no solutions to this problem.
Thanks for letting me know about this. I sent them an email regarding it as well so I guess we shall see if they replu back :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2010, 07:19 PM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It's the game. I've had 3 bsod's from this game playing single player.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2010, 04:47 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

I heard it could be graphics driver related. What video cards are you buys using?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2010, 07:54 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

I just finished playing BFBC2 with my buddies and one of them crashed 3 times tonight. He has a 8800GTS 640mb SSC (not sure of the Forceware version tho).
BC2 is buggy as hell. Good game, but needs a LOT of patching.
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2010, 08:05 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Milton, ON
Posts: 83
Default

Using duel 5870s. It could also be the OC on the CPU....so I turned it downa little bit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no vidio after crash!! ebcogs Troubleshooting 13 September 24, 2009 01:23 PM
Richmond plane crash Phobia Off Topic 5 July 11, 2009 09:47 AM
Random crash in game :( WolfBane Troubleshooting 11 June 10, 2009 02:45 PM
Linux first to crash :( Shadowed O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 September 10, 2007 07:01 AM
Vista Crash?? Marzguitarz CPU's and Motherboards 5 February 3, 2007 10:53 PM