Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2010, 10:48 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,406

My System Specs

Default SATAII or SATA3?

WD Black 1TB's, only about $9 between them. I'm still running a P45 board, but I will be uppgrading soon. I presume the SATA3 would be backwards compatible?
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2010, 10:55 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,282
Default

Sata 6GB/s is backwards compatibale....and to be honest its wasted on a HDD. It will improve its burst speeds, but HDDs real speed is barely saturating a SATA 1 bus!

You can have a 6 lane highway....but if only 2 lanes are being used, you aint going to get to your destination any faster on a 6 than on a three lane one. ;)

Unless you want 6GB/s hdd, I'd get whatever is cheapest. YMMV.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2010, 11:03 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,561
Default

^ +1

but are you saying they're charging an extra $9 for SATA3 on the blacks?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2010, 11:04 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,406

My System Specs

Default

$124 vs $115
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2010, 11:06 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,561
Default

that's flippin' stupid. On a SSD I could see the marketting behind that, but on an HDD? dumb.

SATAII will do you fine.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2010, 11:09 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,406

My System Specs

Default

It's also 64MB Cache vs 32MB
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2010, 11:13 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,282
Default

Which will have almost no real world impact on performance. Every time they make the cache bigger the amount of improvement it nets gets smaller and smaller. TBH 32MB is more than enough for most situations (hell 16mb was enough for most!) ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2010, 11:14 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,561
Default

that might be the difference.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2010, 02:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
Which will have almost no real world impact on performance. Every time they make the cache bigger the amount of improvement it nets gets smaller and smaller. TBH 32MB is more than enough for most situations (hell 16mb was enough for most!) ;)
+1 on that too..

If you really want to spend the extra bucks, get the SATA 3 drive, and then when some new technology or a mobo that can fully utilize the sata 3 capabilities, you're all ready.. besides it's only $9 bucks..

A SATA 2 drive will do justice too.
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2010, 03:55 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 199

My System Specs

Default

Like everyone else said. A normal HDD max out at about 110meg/sec empty then slowly diminish. I have a green (1tb) and it's 82meg/s max. When SATA3 SSD with Controller will appear it will be another thing tought..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] SATAII Hard drive + DDR ram clone63 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 September 28, 2009 10:56 PM
Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 160GB SATAII Mr. Gruntsworthy Storage 2 October 15, 2008 07:50 PM
G.Skill 64GB SATAII SSD Review Comments bojangles Storage 6 June 28, 2008 03:57 PM