Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 09:07 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default Two OCZ Vertex 30GB in RAID 0 or X25-M

Right now I have two OCZ 30GB Vertex SSDs in RAID 0, but am thinking of selling the two, and getting an X25-M.

Is a single X25-M faster? I heard/ read that one X25-M is about the same as two 30BG Vertexs' in RAID 0. Also, the X25-M uses TRIM. And I get an extra 20GB of space. Is it worth making the change?
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 09:15 PM
Linus's Avatar  
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 716
Default

TRIM now works in RAID. New Intel driver.

You'll probably need to do some tweaking unless you want to reformat, but since you'd need to reformat for a new drive anyway...
__________________
Please note: I am not here to provide official NCIX support on these forums.

For faster (and official) NCIX service please contact our customer care team at www.NCIX.com (Canada) or www.NCIXUS.com (USA)

Heatware: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=25647
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 09:22 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default

Im just thinking that if one drive (X25-M) is as good as both my Vertexs', I might as well just get a single SSD and not double my chances of loosing my data.
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 11:56 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,949

My System Specs

Default

I'd definitely take the extra 20GB of space over the very small gains that RAID might provide.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2010, 04:32 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

but is it worth the upgrade no. unless you just want a 25m ssd because vertex support trim too just like the 25m does even in raid0 with intel 9.6 drivers. jmo
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2010, 04:57 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,319
Default

TBH, I'd use the new intel raid drivers and hold on to what you got for a while. Unless you NEED more space dropping cash on minor to moderate upgrade isnt a great deal. Wait awhile and see what comes out, then when you will not only get a size but also performance boost....THEN upgrade to a new drive. Now with all that said IF you have a buyer lined up and it wont cost you anything but TIME to upgrade then why not. Not much down side then, but only if it was just costing time.

YMMV :)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2010, 04:25 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default

I could sell both of them and pay a little more for a new X25-M (80GB). The bottom line is: What is going to be quicker in the end?
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2010, 04:41 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

well i tried running just one gskill it was almost just as fast only noticed it a tiny bit and i mean a tiny bit ( but i am a raid whore )
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2010, 08:19 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default

UPDATE: Wasn't it pointed out that this new driver doesn't allow raided SSDs to have TRIM, but TRIM can be used in RAIDED HDDs or something on those lines? I am not 100% sure what I remember, but it was something about this TRIM thing and SSDs being taken the wrong way.

If this is correct, should I swap two Vertex 30s for an X25-M 80GB?
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2010, 08:24 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

yes what they said is that you can run an ssd as your os or boot drive well still having a data raid setup so that the raid intel south bridge passes on the trim command to the ssd. where before it did not. so if you want to have trim it means no raid0 so go with a intel.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD quikgp Buy/Sell & Trade 8 July 2, 2009 06:35 AM
[FS] 120GB OCZ Vertex. WTT/WTB 80GB X25-M lowfat Buy/Sell & Trade 17 May 27, 2009 06:43 AM
[FS] OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD, OCZ 3GB Triple Channel RAM Dave510 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 May 25, 2009 03:58 PM